Explore the US Southwest with us!

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Explore the US Southwest with us!

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionJoin us on our trip out west! We're a family of six (seven with our dog Thor) who will be heading to Arizona in our RV around Thanksgiving. Our two older kids (12 and 15) are self-sufficient, but we'd like some help with our younger two (4mo and 7) . We are looking for two people traveling together, or two individuals who know they can live and work with another easily, to join us on our adventure. We have 2 good size tents for sleeping and down time, and a full bathroom on board, as well as outdoor bathroom accommodations, and seating inside for when we're traveling between destinations.

    Our home base is in Quartzite, AZ, and we plan to take some trips to other parts of Arizona and out to California. Desert, mountain and beach trips are planned. I (Liz) am a spiritual/holistic practitioner who works remotely, and the kids are in virtual school in the morning. We will be traveling for about four months before heading back to New England, and we plan to visit some unique and exciting places!

    Aside from seeking out great spots in nature while we're set up off-grid, we'll be visiting national parks, indigenous sites, and looking for the "local flavor" of some of the towns on our route. Two of our kids love to dance, and we like to check out local music when we can as well.

    Our 15yo is learning French and both older kids love learning new languages. We have a guitar, ukulele, and some drums that you're welcome to play, or just mess around with. If you do play, we'd love to learn from you! John (my husband) is a great cook, and typically cooks more traditional meals (sometimes a bit spicy! :-) )

    In your free time, you're welcome to bring the camping setup with you. If you don't have a car, we can drive you to your destination, within reason. Or you're welcome to hang out too, of course! We're hoping for your minimum stay to be about six weeks, but would gladly accommodate travelers for the full 4-5 months. If you're on the east coast and ready to start now, you're welcome to travel west with us. Or, we'll be reaching Arizona in early December and would be happy to have you join us there.
  • LocationUnited States, Arizona, La Paz County, Quartzsite

  • Work
  • Type of work Babysitting / Childcare
  • Hours per day We envision most of the hours for the two travelers overlapping, giving you the majority of your free time together. We can set up with you if you'd like to have a four-day or five-day schedule. We're looking for 20-25 hours per week per traveler.
  • Work requirements: Our seven-year-old is a vibrant and active boy with some extra needs. We're looking for someone to help him during virtual school, play with him during down-time and/or chaperone him during some of our outings. We're looking for a babysitter for our baby as well. We're open to having each traveler share responsibilities for the two kids, depending on how everybody clicks. Special needs experience is not as important to us as the right personality!
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: We'd appreciate a six-week minimum stay, but longer is great too!
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? We have a great family dog and a cat who will be traveling with us.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: We have a nice camping setup for you for sleeping, and outdoor water and a camping toilet for night-time use. During the day, you're free to use our small kitchen and bathroom, including shower. We'll provide food on the days you spend with us. We have a small refrigerator and are looking to add another small one, so you're welcome to buy your own food as well, but you'd have to take that into account. We also have seating inside the motorhome for you on the days we're traveling. If for some reason we're at a location where you don't want to camp outside, our van, which we'll be towing on longer trips and driving in for shorter trips, folds down for sleeping too.
  • Additional info
  • If you're interested, I (Liz) am happy to share some techniques for expanding intuition and self-healing. John is very knowledgeable about plants and ecosystems and would be happy to add that aspect into our trip for you, if that interests you.