Xint JJ

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Traveller

Xint JJ

  • Profile description
  • Hello! I am new here and looking for accomodation and food in exchange for work in Germany or in a German-speaking region.
    About me: I've finished my bachelor degree in Biology and taking a year-long sabbatical. My plan A was to do internships in genetics or computational biology, and since I haven't found opportunities, my plan B is to progress in German -- so here I am!


    My goal is to re-gain fluency in German. I've learned it at school, but the studies made me focus on other things and now I've become hesitant and make simple mistakes. Please help me practising :)

    In exchange, I would be happy to have some work done for you. I have good-will and once I've gotten myself engaged I do things correctly.

    My limit would be 5 hours/day and 5 days/week, but open to discussion as long as it's reasonable. Since my plan A (find an internship) didn't work so far, I'd like to use some of my time to keep on reading scientific articles and look for an internship -- internet access is important for me. Also to do some of my hobbies, such as drawing/painting, writing/reading, listening/playing music, meditating/yoga, sports/exploring. And cooking.
  • Profile details
  • Account type: individual
  • Nationality:CH
  • Age:24
  • Skills: (I am basically willing to help in all tasks. We only need to agree before-hand :))

    Being a biologist and interested in plants and nature, I would be happy to take care of anything that's gardening-related.

    One of my passions is to serve people delicious food. From the selection of ingredients to cooking exotic Peruvian to Spanish, Italian, Swiss food and such, as well as vegan or yummy dishes for people with a lot of intolerances (gluten-free, lactose-free, spices and vinegar-free, low on sugars, not fried, certain types of rice, ...). I can cook all sorts of meat and fish, make bread such as pretzels and buns.
    I love setting tables and organizing my time in a way that everything is ready before the first person arrives. I've worked in a burgers place, so I can also do instant cooking and taking care of a lot of things at the same time.

    This awareness of things that need to be done at all time gives me the ability to hold a house, keeping it clean, while taking care of children, elderly people, animals and plants.

    I've never worked in a farm before, but I've cleaned horses boxes once or twice in my life and can take care of animals if I'm told what to do.

    I am willing to try to repair stuff, I've done a bit of this before (glue broken objects, change the light bulb, assemble/disassemble furniture, ...), but I would need advice on repairing a fence, a chair, a roof/wall... I have done wall painting as well. With instructions and what I recall, I can certainly help.

    I can communicate in 4 languages, so I think that staying in the reception would be beneficial.

    About Art Project, I should clarify that I'm no professional in the domain, but that I love painting/drawing and listening to music.
  • Task Willing to do: Animal care
    Art project
    Babysitting / Childcare
    Building
    Charity work
    Cooking / Shopping
    Elderly care
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
  • Languages: French, English, German more or less, and basic Spanish.
  • Planned travelling dates: 2019-10-14 to 2019-12-24
  • Countries planning on travelling to: My plan is to be in Germany from October to December.
  • Dietary Requirements:No requirement, I can adapt, but I prefer a diet mostly composed of vegetables and fruit.
  • Driver License:Yes -- CH
  • Allergies:Hay fever