Victoria

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Traveller

Victoria

  • Profile description
  • Half Chilean, Half Colombian, last name is Africano, born and raised in USA .... Growing up I was always asked "what are you?" I think this question impacted me much more than I realized ....
    I went to Chile for three weeks in 2002 .... Three weeks turned into 20 years and six continents (including Antarctica; haven't been to Oceania) as I did not return and quickly learned that there is no 'returning' ... I traded a predictable life in the Matrix for an Explorer's Nomadic life and became sucked into the curiosity of learning how Humans Be all over the planet. I have spent a lot of time among a variety of cultures (I include animals and plants), sparred on by my curiosity of Resilience, the things we all share, the basic needs we all have in common, the values particular to certain people or cultures, and how we strive to meet them .... We are a fascinating species: So many colors, so many emotions, so much suffering both internal and external, so much confusion, so much beauty ....!
    A human need I see--and recognize in myself--is the need to feel related to and the need to feel like we, as one little drop in an ocean, matter. And I think after so much wandering, I think communities of relatable souls that now can be found on the internet -- like this organization -- have a lot of merit. And I can't wait to dive in so we can keep sharing and learning and loving.
    What am I? A beautiful soul, just like you, just like everybody on this fantastic planet, who loves learning through 'doing' and sharing knowledge with each other; a playful earthling who deeply cares about the health and happiness of our Home and her inhabitants -- be-it on a global or local scale.

    PS -- While working in Baja in 2017 I picked up a 5 week old puppy somebody had tossed out of their car and abandoned; you know, it's one of those things you can't un-see and can't pretend you didn't see. Especially when this round little critter spots you and comes bouncing over to you, destining you for the role of saviour, tripping over itself in the process. I literally ran into the road to stop a car from running her over.
    Long story short, I have a 6 kilo (15 pound) little terrier mutt now; we've been together for 4+ years. She's a big smiley heart with four legs and a tail; she is very friendly and gets on with all sorts of animals (she has cat, horse, llama, pig, bird, and of course dog friends) and humans of all ages -- she has been really helpful melting hearts and breaking down barriers especially with children and elderly; she doesn't shed because she has this goat-like coarse wire fur; she's intelligent and LISTENS, she's travelled with me to Chile, USA, Mexico (her homeland), Spain, and has been on planes, trains, buses, hitch-hiking, boats (motors, kayaks, rafts and sailboats).
    I mention her because, while I never planned on having an addition to my nomadic circus of one, I really hope she can accompany me on Worldpackers assignments. Her tiny size and adaptability has made it possible for her to accompany me on travels and at international job sites, though I understand that not all places are going to be tiny dog-friendly.

    I take my responsibilities very seriously, appreciate good communication, and will always strive to go above and beyond for you.
  • Profile details
  • Account type: individual
  • Nationality:USA and Chile
  • Age:42
  • Skills: Because of my explorer and nature loving heart and my want to share environmental and cultural education with others, I most often work in the Tourism sector.



    -
I am a Tour Guide and Naturalist -- I have worked in many countries, both serving in English and Spanish.
 These past 5 years I have worked in Baja California (Mexico) as a Tour Guide offering educational Whale tours to visitors and Assistant Manager at an Eco-Lodge where visitors stay from 1-5 days.
    
-Assistant Manager duties include(d) reservations, answering phones, visitor greeting, liaison between tourists, staff, and locals, bartending duties, and whatever is/was needed.
    
-
I have created many Residual Separation Stations and incorporated workshops teaching how to Minimize your Waste (in eco-lodges, hostels, schools, etc)

    -
I sometimes work as a Massage Therapist (I am licensed and certified)
    
-
I sometimes work as a freelance blog writer

    -
I have natural building experience with earth, bamboo, recycled materials, etc.

    -I always (and happily) end up working as a translator and liaison, both between English/Spanish populations and also inter-culturally. This is an important skill to note because often people may speak the same language on the outside, but if they do not have experience with other cultural backgrounds, sometimes their differences, which can cause misunderstandings, mistrust, or poor communication.
    -I've been a Swim Instructor and a Swim Teach Coach and love teaching people of all ages--from babies to elderly--the joy, respect, and freedom of being in the water. I never worked as a Scuba Instructor (yet) but I bet I would love it with the same satisfaction.

    -
I have a BS degree in Kinesiology with Biology emphasis but received special permission from my director to do all my practicums with animals instead of humans because I thought I wanted to go to vet school.


    -I am a licensed and certified Massage Therapist for humans and pets (well, dogs but I believe I can help anybody with muscles:)

    -
I am a certified Divemaster
    
-
I am a certified TEFL Instructor
    

-I am a certified Permaculturist
    

-I have WAFA certification (wilderness advanced first aid)
    
-
I am currently working towards a certification as a Somatic Psychotherapy Practitioner


    -I am a native English and Spanish speaker
    
-
I have learned Hebrew (now back at a basic level)
    

-I have learned Portuguese (now back at a basic level)
    

-I am studying Japanese (currently at a basic level but climbing; I want to practice with people)
  • Task Willing to do: Animal care
    Art project
    Babysitting / Childcare
    Building
    Charity work
    Cooking / Shopping
    Elderly care
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with eco project
    Helping with tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Other
  • Languages: English (native), Spanish (native), Portuguese (beginner), Hebrew (beginner), Japanese (beginner)
  • Planned travelling dates: 2021-06-16 to 2021-07-31
  • Countries planning on travelling to: Nothing is set in stone; I like it when things match and flow versus picking specific locations and dates. I never know what I am closing myself to!
  • Dietary Requirements:None
  • Driver License:US drivers license and I can purchase an International drivers license if that makes things easier; just let me know
  • Allergies:Penicillin