Sun Nguyen

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Traveller

Sun Nguyen

Traveller

References

Log in or register to check

Sun Nguyen

  • Profile description
  • Hello!

    Welcome to my page and hopefully we can meet each other when the opportunity arise.

    My name is Sun.

    I have studied Japanese for a few years and I recently got back from my study trip in Japan last September (2018).

    Traveling and gaining new insights about life is very valuable to me. Currently staying in Canada doing wwoofing and paid work.

    Things I do:

    Meditate
    Reading and collecting more knowledge
    Volunteering by organizing artsy festivals, setting up art exhibitions
    Practice martial arts. Karate and Shorinji
    Travel to places to experience and understand energy better.
    Paint and draw


    Work experiences I had:

    Bakery
    Market
    McDonald’s
    Cleaning
    Festivals (working at)
    Mailing center (driving a lorry)
    Sorting center
    Working in a hostel in Japan
    Wwoofing on a farm
    Elderly care
    Cook
    Waitressing
    Bartender
    Other smaller jobs.

    My worldview and philosophy changed drastically after I had a major car accident. I was the passenger and we somehow derailed and ended up crashing into trees. I broke my back. It took me about two months in the hospital to recover. I knew I was very fortunate and extremely lucky to have survived the crash. The car was declared total loss yet I had sustained no permanent major health consequences. But the feeling of how lucky I was only really struck me after I was able to get out of bed.... Walking through the spine ward while others could not.

    This experience humbled my life. It also gave new meaning and purpose to my life. It changed me for the better.

    I no longer focus on what I ought I suppose to do; family, work, society. Being truly happy and finding myself has become my life goal. There is so much about ourselves we do not know. So much we are capable of, which we have yet to discover. So much to experience and be grateful for. I wish I could give myself all the experiences my heart desires. I too wish, others would listen to their calling more and be less afraid of living the life they want to.

    We live to experience.

    And that is exactly what I will be doing until the very end.

    What I would love to attain during my time abroad: connecting with people all over the world on a deeper and more meaningful level. Gaining new skills related to work and expertise in new areas for example teaching etc. Learning and discovering new abilities and improving myself, mentally, physically but also spiritually.
  • Profile details
  • Account type: individual
  • Nationality:Dutch (The Netherlands)
  • Age:31
  • Skills: Language
    Babysitting
    Outdoor work
    Elderly care
    Cook
    Bartender and waitressing
    Organize and manage projects
  • Task Willing to do: Art project
    Babysitting / Childcare
    Cooking / Shopping
    Elderly care
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with computers / internet
    Help with eco project
    Helping with tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Other
  • Languages: English, Dutch,
  • Planned travelling dates: 2019-10-06 to 2020-10-31
  • Countries planning on travelling to: Until October 2019 - Canada
    October onwards Vietnam

    Would love to travel to Taiwan, Japan or South Korea.
  • Dietary Requirements:None
  • Driver License:Yes

    Motor license
    Car license (B)
  • Allergies:None