Spoke´n´chain

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Traveller

Spoke´n´chain

Traveller

References

Log in or register to check

Spoke´n´chain

  • Profile description
  • We are Kevin and Sylvie, we have been living and working together for the past five years in creative play, community arts, circus, carnival and performance, particularly with bicycles.

    We have left Bristol by bicycle with the intention of living and working along the cycle routes of Europe.

    In the summer we will be looking for the occasional work away opportunities.
    For the winter month we would like to find longer stay opportunities, between two to six months.

    WHY ARE WE TRAVELLING ?
    Both of us have always had the dream to be bicycle nomads for a while, working and living with our bikes.

    In the warmer months we try and earn our way by performing our show, running storytelling workshops and taking people out on theatrical bike rides.

    We have our own power generating system on the bike (solar and pedal power) so are able to power/host/run very small scale/micro music gigs and cinemas anywhere – the woods, the beach, etc.

    We are keeping our journey, stories and contacts alive online through our What Giants!? Blog.

    OUR CURRENT ROUTE PLAN IS:
    spend the winter in Portugal and then in spring 2018 slowly cycle back up north through the north of Portugal and Spain to the south of France....

    There is a map of our route on the blog, which we will be updating as we go along.
  • Profile details
  • Account type: couple
  • Nationality:british and german
  • Age:61 (Kevin) and 40 (Sylvia)
  • Skills: We have a fair wealth of bicycle maintenance knowledge. We have run our own community bike workshop as well as volunteering for the Bristol Bike Project. We can service your bikes.

    We like putting on creative/arty fun events a lot of them to do with bicycles and have helped get the Bristol Cycle Festival up and running.

    We have lugged a lot of things around by bicycle and could be good as bicycle couriers.

    For five years we have been involved with Artspace Lifespace in Bristol which utilises empty buildings and puts them into good use for the arts and have attended regular weekly workdays which has entailed all kinds of odd jobs. We know how to muck in.

    We like gardening. We set up and run a successful community garden project for two years.

    We are qualified play workers and have worked a lot with young people at festivals, in schools, adventure playgrounds, community projects...

    We have carnival, stilts, clowning and performing skills.

    Kevin has worked as a projectionist and has been involved with a voluntarily run cinema, The Cube Cinema, for 15 years.

    Sylvie is a trained fashion and textile designer so knows how to sew, make clothes and costumes and has a nack for reusing/recycling and finding new uses for things that other people throw away.
  • Task Willing to do: Art project
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with eco project
    Helping with tourists
    Language practice
    Other
  • Languages: english, german, french, spanish, czech
  • Planned travelling dates: 2017-09-24 to 2020-10-31
  • Countries planning on travelling to: La belle France... we are in Brittany will be heading south for the winter towards Italy
  • Dietary Requirements:we prefer vegeterian but generally we have no special requirements and if we're hungry we eat what is available...
  • Driver License:no
  • Allergies:no