SOBill

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Traveller

SOBill

  • Profile description
  • Healthy 70 year old male who loves to hike, swim and meet new people and explore local life in this wonderful One World or ours.
    Multitude of skill sets from a life time of diverse work experiences.
    Peace Corps Volunteer - Taught business, mechanics and carpentry as well assisted with construction of school.
    Cook - cafe, restaurant, ski resort and truck stop. Also spent time as dish washer, waiter and bus boy. Actually ran a team of horses and chuck wagon in Yellow Stone park.
    Youth counselor and House Parent - assisting adjudicated, neglected and runaway youth. Scuba Instructor - PADI Master Dive Instructor (Hawaii - Solomon Islands).
    Numerous construction trades as labor and superintendent with focus on civil construction - utilities, drainage and structural. Also competent in general construction and repair. A little old for 8 plus hours a day of hard labor but fully capable of 4 hours of physical exertion and 8 hours of normal work.
    Accountant at craft brewery - (got my degree at 60 years of age) and able to teach as well as keep books.
    Library assistant in computer room - helped patrons with use of computers - software, printing and internet.
    Degree in - Welding (pretty rusty), minor in botany, Accounting and PC Repair (have built my own computers since 1996 for myself, family and friends. Also repaired/upgraded laptops.
    Proficient in office software and able to update my skills as needed.
    Drove autos between cities in Hawaii as well as transported other drivers in passenger van to and from pick up locations.
    Life long learner. Literate, socially progressive and well rounded individual.
    I am just the type of person who needs to be involved and my plan at retirement was to make myself and many skills available to others and organizations in the world now that I no longer need to earn a living.
    I need only room and board or partial board.
    Just getting this filled out but will update and pretty it up soon.
  • Profile details
  • Account type: individual
  • Nationality:US
  • Age:70 but healthy like 55
  • Skills: see profile description - will update in a few days
  • Task Willing to do: Babysitting / Childcare
    Building
    Charity work
    Cooking / Shopping
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with computers / internet
    Teaching
    Other
  • Languages: English - Solomon Island Pidjin
  • Planned travelling dates: 2022-07-03 to 2022-10-31
  • Countries planning on travelling to: I am open to any destination if the engagement appears to be interesting, fulfilling and a good fit for my skill set and what I feel I can contribute.
  • Dietary Requirements:None but prefer lots of vegetables, fruits, grains and minimal animal products but not in any strict sense of one type of diet or not.
  • Driver License:Yep - drive well, even on the opposite side of road. No tickets or accidents. Have normal auto and motorcycle license. Have driven passenger vans and as I grew up on a farm some equipment.
  • Allergies:None - Fully vaccinated from the usual culprits and COVID - Take no medicines beyond vitamins and the occasional NSAID for an ache or pain.