Selina Fischer

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Traveller

Selina Fischer

Traveller

References

Log in or register to check

Selina Fischer

  • Profile description
  • Hi there
    My name is Selina (31), I was born, live and work in Switzerland. In between I like to travel, although I haven't gone too far during the past two years because of Corona. And, quelle surprise, I discovered that Switzerland was just as beautiful and visiting the French part was like being far from home (there are cultural differences and of course the language...totally different).

    I'm working for the Swiss Farmers Union and I am very passionate about environmental aspects of agriculture. Unfortunately, I didn't grow up on a farm but after my studies in environmental sciences I spent almost 1 year working at a pig farm (piglet rearing) and some months at a dairy farm (organic farming). Because of this background, I prefer farmstays during which I can help out and learn all kind of amazing things.

    I'm an easy person to get along with and adapt pretty fast to new situations, new people, new work. I'm happy if I have a warm place to rest and a cup of tea (I'm a great lover of tea, specially all kind of senchas) and maybe a good book. I like to work in a team but when given clear instructions I'm just as well happy to work alone. I'm an introvert person which means that I love to spend time with people but I need some time alone to recuperate. It's all about balance :)

    If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask!
  • Profile details
  • Account type: individual
  • Nationality:Swiss
  • Age:31
  • Skills: Experience handling animals
    - horses: I've been horse riding for about 15 years, including cleaning stables, feeding, caring in general
    - pigs: I was working several months at a pig rearing farm, which included cleaning, feeding, earmarking, looking after the health of sows and piglets etc.
    - cow: I was woofing for 3 months at an organic dairy farm and was fully involved in daily farm life (milking cows, driving to the laiterie, cleaning stables, feeding, sawing wood, helping out with other tasks)

    Driving
    - can drive automatic and manual
    - have a bit of experience driving with a small trailer (no further licence needed)
    - drove several times an old tractor -> would love to do it more!

    Cooking
    - Okay, but not very gourmet. Since I mostly cook for a single household, I tend to be practical rather than fancy, though I can give it a try! I did an exchange year in Japan, so I like to cook from time to time some Japanese food (udon, ramen, curry,..)

    Being organized and clean
    - should not be skill but what I've seen so far in my life, it's definitely one...

    Overall: I might not bring a lot of further skills, but I'm willing, and acutally very curious and excited, to learn everything about anything!
  • Task Willing to do: Animal care
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Other
  • Languages: German, English, French
  • Planned travelling dates: 2022-08-28 to 2022-09-16
  • Countries planning on travelling to: Because I'm a hard working woman I've got a three week long holiday this year :)
    During which I'd love to work at a farm to expand my horizon. From the last week of August 2022 to the second week of September 2022 I'd like to go to either Iceland, Ireland, Scotland or Brittany (France).
  • Dietary Requirements:None
  • Driver License:Yes (can drive manual)
  • Allergies:No