Grzegorz Szmidt

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Traveller

Grzegorz Szmidt

Traveller

References

Log in or register to check

Grzegorz Szmidt

  • Profile description
  • Hello World!

    My name is Greg. I’m here to change my life style, see the world and hopefully make a difference. Just recently I have reshaped my vision of life and realized that what I was doing for the last years is probably not the best for me or the world. I've worked for different corporations in various offices and realized that exchanging precious time for un-precious money is a road to nowhere.

    Now I’m actively looking to find a place to learn new skills and exciting profession.

    I’m an outdoor person and like hiking, skiing and working with animals especially horses. I'm looking for challenges. I consider myself averagely fit. I do not have high expectations regarding living conditions and I am an open minded person, like to socialize but value alone time too. I take pictures with my handmade 'camera obscura' and I draw from time to time. You can see my pictures and drawings in the gallery.


    I was born 1984 in small town in Poland. Communism was at a tactical retreat at that time and fresh breath of freedom begun to penetrate through the iron wall. I grew up living in the concrete block of flats and only summer holidays I would spent with grandparents in the country. That’s when I developed fondness for nature and outdoors that defines me now. After my parents’ divorce I never actually grew roots anywhere as I was constantly moving between houses. Father moved to the small village outside of our home town and I have spent some years there living a simple life. Travelling to school couple of miles away and tending to ducks and hens after doing my homework were my primary duties. I went to work as soon as I graduated and worked in hospitality for couple of years. I have moved to Dublin where I lived and worked for almost three years but returned to Poland and worked in the office. Just recently I have completed basic military training (that was fun but less challenging than I expected) and realized that there is nothing holding me in one place apart from full time job. I plan to move around the globe but not as a tourist, more like traveler who blends in with a local community for some time before deciding to move on.

    I dream of coming to Arctic and learning about mushing but will accept any kind of healthy job. Will do some indoor office work only as a secondary duty - just let me breathe the fresh air from time to time! ;)


    Hope to hear from you soon!

    BTW - if you plan to travel to Warsaw let me know. I might be able to have a couch for you.

    "To see the world,
    things dangerous to come to,
    to see behind walls, draw closer,
    to find each other, and to feel.
    That is the purpose of life"
    - The Secret Life of Walter Mitty



  • Profile details
  • Account type: individual
  • Nationality:Polish
  • Age:34
  • Skills: computer skills
    driving license
    working with animals mostly horses but open for all kind of animal work
  • Task Willing to do: Animal care
    Art project
    Babysitting / Childcare
    Charity work
    Cooking / Shopping
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with computers / internet
    Help with eco project
    Helping with tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Other
  • Languages: English (advanced written and spoken), Polish
  • Planned travelling dates: 2020-12-01 to 2020-12-30
  • Countries planning on travelling to: Jordan
  • Dietary Requirements:no special requirements
  • Driver License:Yes
  • Allergies:no allergies