Gra Rosa

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Traveller

Gra Rosa

  • Profile description
  • I am a playwriter, actress and teacher with more than 20 years of experience and work with training of children and young people in Brazil, through performance and visual arts.

    In Brazil, as in Africa, we have a lot of poverty, serious social imbalances and enviromental problems and since 1993 we started our journey with artistic projects with vulnerable populations, with rural and indigenous populations and with a strong relationship with the environment. So we have extensive experience in living in the wilderness and with conditions far removed from the comforts of civilization.
    And Brazil also has an important peculiarity in relation to developed nations, an extremely vibrant popular culture, very well known worldwide, and which brings us very close to Africa. Brazil was the country that received the largest number of African slaves in the terrible period of transatlantic slavery and this incorporated African values and traditions into our culture, making us very African in our habits and manners. Brazil is Africa outside Africa, as we say here.
    With this cultural proximity, it is very natural that many Brazilians have a special relationship with Africa and this is the case for those who work with art here, because all the music, the food, the dances, our popular festivities (Carnival for example), even learned culture is deeply influenced by the African cultures that arrived here.

    My husband Jansen, is a composer, director and musical producer and has extensive work with an african musical instrument (musical bow) called Berimbau in Brazil and that is why he loves Africa.
    Because we are very close to Afro-Brazilian culture, we always had the dream of traveling to Africa and now we are going to write a play that takes place in Africa. This is our opportunity. We want to spend sabbatical time to write.

    And now, we are ready for this trip. I am 49 years old and he is 47, we have 3 adult children who are artists and who collaborate and work with us helping us in this initiative. So we do not want to be travelers in Africa or to do tourism, but we do want an african experience, as we sincerely believe that this can change our life, for all that the motherland of all humans represents for us and our work. And to repay this experience we offer our work and expertise as volunteers at your place.

    We can help with all activities related to art and education.
    As we practiced Homeschooling with our children during the formal education phase, we also have a lot of practice with initial literacy and all childcare.

    Ecological activities. We have long experience in field with works that bring together arts and nature.

    With farmstay activities, because we plant our food for a long time.

    We are also willing to help you, with cooking, we have some experience in the kitchen (our youngest daughter is a chef and runs a small contemporary kitchen business), help with tourists and with designer services (our oldest daughter is a designer too and she may help remotely).
  • Profile details
  • Account type: couple
  • Nationality:Brazilian
  • Age:'49 (Graça), 47 (Jansen)'
  • Skills: Art:
    1. teaching music - piano, voice, percussion and theory. Choir practices and small orchestra. Eletronic music.
    2. teaching theatre - acting, theatre masks, and theatrical games. Writing workshops.

    Education:
    All sort of activities that involve plays, literacy, reading, storytelling and recreational practices.

    Eco and farmstay:
    Plant and animal care.
    Bird and animal watching.
    Cooking.

  • Task Willing to do: Animal care
    Art project
    Babysitting / Childcare
    Charity work
    Cooking / Shopping
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help with computers / internet
    Help with eco project
    Helping with tourists
    Teaching
  • Languages: Portuguese, English
  • Planned travelling dates: 2021-06-20 to 2022-06-20
  • Countries planning on travelling to: South Africa; Namibia; Botswana; others countries of Southern Africa and around Lake Victoria region.
  • Dietary Requirements:No.
  • Driver License:Yes. Issued in Brazil
  • Allergies:No.