Elliewks

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Traveller

Elliewks

  • Profile description
  • Hi, my name's Ellie! I'm a COVID-conscious young professional from Chicago, taking a break from corporate life in order to reconnect with myself and the world. I'm a frequent traveller, very active and independent, and practice yoga regularly. I love music and animals, and I'm passionate about social justice and sustainability. I'm thoughtful and empathetic, a hard worker, and always seeking to challenge and stretch myself.

    I'm currently volunteering at a sanctuary for farmed animals on the Big Island of Hawaii, working alongside other work traders and local volunteers. Prior to this, I was focused full time on election work in Georgia, where I'm from originally.

    I'm mature, detail oriented, very clean, comfortable with shared living spaces, enjoy working outdoors, love teaching and mentoring others, and I'm great interacting with customers or guests in a friendly and professional manner. I'm committed to lifelong learning, and the values that drive my work and life are integrity, diversity, and respect. I really hope to connect with you soon!
  • Profile details
  • Account type: individual
  • Nationality:American
  • Age:28
  • Skills: I'm currently completing my first work trade via Workaway, which has been an amazing and immersive experience at an off-grid animal sanctuary on the Big Island of Hawaii. We work with goats, sheep, pigs, chickens, and cows -- feeding, watering, mucking stalls and pastures, caring for our special needs animals, and enjoying lots of cuddles. I also lead both public and private sanctuary tours, and I manage the sanctuary's volunteer program (Workawayers, long term work traders, and local day volunteers) by screening applicants, interviewing candidates, and working with sanctuary leadership to coordinate volunteer schedules.

    I grew up on a small farm in Georgia and spent my summers working in corn and cantaloupe fields, so I'm familiar with gardening and agriculture, but I really want to learn more! I work in technology, so I have strong computer skills, can juggle many competing priorities, and my communication skills are well honed. I'm comfortable interacting with diverse people and skillsets, and always love learning new things.
  • Task Willing to do: Animal care
    Building
    Charity work
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help with computers / internet
    Help with eco project
    Helping with tourists
  • Languages: English, a little French
  • Planned travelling dates: 2020-11-09 to 2021-07-16
  • Countries planning on travelling to: Hawaii (approx. November 2020-July 2021)
  • Dietary Requirements:Vegetarian
  • Driver License:Yes, U.S.
  • Allergies:None