DomFrance

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Traveller

DomFrance

  • Profile description
  • I want to discover different cultures and societies. As my kids are both growns up, I'm free to do so.
    I'm found of my french mother tongue and I love to make people discover how language and society and history and way of thinking are related.
    I'm open to meet and help quiet people who want to live in peace and harmony, related to language teaching or not. I would like to help with gardening as I love it so much, to help taking care of animals and potentially to help with developing projects.
    I'd rather prefer to be a long term helper. I usually don't plan the duration of my stay, staying somewhere as long as it suits everybody involved. It can be weeks or months.
    Right now, I'm in a Workaway spot in the south of France, taking care of the garden. I'm currently looking for a host to welcome me, preferably a host nearby who would give me the opportunity to help with animals I don't know yet and to get to know them, like donkeys, horses and others. Nevertheless, I'm open to other kinds of help.
  • Profile details
  • Account type: individual
  • Nationality:French and Swiss
  • Age:59
  • Skills: First of all, I love learning and I'm very good at it. If I've got nothing to learn or nothing new to do/discover or a project to be part of, after a while I get bored.
    I teach French to young adults and adults. For instance, I've been teaching at the Alliance Fran├žaise of Bethlehem (Palestine) for 6 months and in a small countryside town in Morocco for 4 months. My specialty is to design new training courses. Some people also asked me to teach them English at beginner and intermediate levels. I strongly insist to get my students improve their prononciation and think in the target language.
    I'm also proofreading thesis and memories in French, through internet. I'm creating ebooks in epub format, starting with a pdf format.
    Besides, I've been gardening in the organic way for years (I love hand weeding, weird isn't it ?) and managing for 15 years my small business in training and helping people to work. I've recently been told about my way of gardening that I'm fast and efficient even being an artist with it :).
    I've been taking care of more than 40 abandoned cats for my hosts. They got to know me when I fed them of course but I noticed that those in cages liked to come to me, at their own pace, when I was cleaning their place as it was a moment when I was spending a quiet time with them and they had started to wait for it.
    I'm used to design and built my own furniture at home.
    Also, if you wish, on my spare time, I can knit something for you, even socks. I would be pleased to do so as I miss knitting.
    Although I'm 59 years old, hopefully and luckily, I'm very healthy.
    As a helper (through another site where I've got a letter of references), I've been teaching, gardening, being in charge of gardens, painting, taking care of a diseased person and of rescued cats. I can't deal with constantly barking dogs, it's too noisy for me although I have no problem with owls, frogs, donkeys, cows and bulls which I have had as close neighbours.
    I like to work within a team as well as to work alone, being in charge of a project to go through.
  • Task Willing to do: Animal care
    Charity work
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    Help with eco project
    Helping with tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Other
  • Languages: French is my mother tong. I live mostly in English since 2011.
  • Planned travelling dates: 2019-07-01 to 2019-07-01
  • Countries planning on travelling to: Spain, Catalonia or around, south of France, starting on 01.07.19
  • Dietary Requirements:I am a vegetarian but I don't mind that people around me are not. I can eat some fish once in a while.
  • Driver License:Yes
  • Allergies:Aloe Vera. Cold and humid house: it gives me cramps into my feet and legs and rheumatism.