Woodland Homestead

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Samuel R. Kinsey

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Woodland Homestead

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionMy wife and I and our 3 young kids are homesteading on 17 acres in Orange County Indiana. We are interested in help with construction, housekeeping, childcare, woodcutting, gardening, and tending our fruit trees and animals. Which of these you do depends on your interests and abilities.
    For your accommodations we have a 12x32 cabin (including porch), which will have electric but not indoor plumbing. We'll provide water, there'll be a composting outhouse, and you can shower at our house, or a solar shower in summer.
  • LocationUnited States, Indiana, Orange County, Paoli

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Babysitting / Childcare
    Building
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
  • Hours per day 20 hours a week for food and lodging or 10 for just lodging or anything in between. When is usually flexible, 4 hours a day is good.
  • Work requirements: Friendly, willing to work, no drugs or illegal behavior. Families welcome.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: Anywhere from 3 days to 3 months
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? Yes, 3 dogs, 1 cat, 3 rabbits, 4 sheep
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Off grid cabin.
  • Additional info
  • We are interested in intentional community, and hope to start one here that will focus on being a good place for families and natural, healthy living. We are Christian, but not conservative and would welcome those of other religion and spirituality. We are moderate politically, and generally open-minded and easy-going.  We appreciate people having a love for the earth, and enjoy sharing what nature has to offer with others.