Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

We are a Permaculturefarm

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionHi, we are Heinrich , Peregrina and Najuka .We live in Portugal for 9 and 45 years. We live in a small farm in a beautiful environment in the south of Portugal, close to Monchique. We have a clay house with 2 separate rooms for guests,also a camping van and some tents. We want to turn our place into a permaculture system with all kinds of vegetation. We try to build a sustainable living. We keep 12 milking goats and make cheese every other day. We have chickens, ,some cats,and ducks a dog too .We also keep honeybees. We have vegetable gardens and fruit trees. We need help from people who like to work on the land and the work will be everything around the farm, firewood, vegetable gardens, trees, animals etc. We are vegetarians. You must be an animal lover. The environment is beautiful for walking, hiking, cycling etc. We require 5-6hours work on 6days a week.
    Limited hot water from solar energy.
    We are very interested to meet new people from all over the world and give them a special experience at our farm. We think it is important to teach and spread the ideas of sustainable living and by giving an example creating a more beautiful world.
    We are also interested in meeting people who want to stay extended or move over here to live on or close to our farm.
    We found out that with in-experienced helpers it takes at least a week to learn the whole routine of the work on the farm so we decided to set a minimum of 3 weeks for your stay at our farm. if you have enough experience with farm work, than we can probably agree with a shorter period.
    We are a working farm,and we prefer people,who want to learn something and not only think of eating and sleeping.we have good vegetarian food.On our place is smoking and drinking not allowed.
  • LocationPortugal, Monchique

  • Work
  • Type of work gardening,,make cheese and bread, marmelade and chutneys,picking up fruit and Olives
  • Hours per day 6 hours a day
  • Work requirements: boots,in winter rain cloth and gloves
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: minimum 3weeks
  • Maximum number of helpers: 7
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English,German,Portugies,Lithuanisch
  • Has pets? one dog and some cats
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: house ,caravan and tent
  • Additional info
  • WE live in a valley.there is a free bus to Monchique 4 times a week
    webside;peacefulvalleys.com