Try life on a small peaceful farm near Volyně

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Try life on a small peaceful farm near Volyně

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionBy the way we are making hay these days so it will be great if you could arrive as soon as possible :), we will be so happy when you come and help.

    Hi, We are a family of four (Frantisek 40, Martina 39, Lilian 14 and Ester 16 years old), living in a small village called Skály (near Strakonice), the nearest town Volyně is 10 km. We live on a large farm, but since we are reconstructing it, we live in three rooms with a bathroom. For the helper(s) we have ready a private little house, which is also in the picture. There is a stone and it is two-storey (about 7m²). Upstairs is a sleeping area, downstairs is a couch that can also be spread out . Clean your teeth, bathe, go to the toilet and the bathroom, all this is possible in our home. We cook meals mostly without meat. We don't have meat very often, so once a month, and if we do, just from our animals. We make bread our own, sourdough and we use only high-quality ingredients and vegetables from our garden for food. We also have an apple orchard and two large nuts. About 500m behind the house we have a large outdoor swimming pool and we also have lots of forests around. The nearest shop is 6km. And that's probably all, now you can ask :). Yeah, and we also have about 1.5 km from us such a small castle and 8km from us the great ruins of Helfenburg Castle. We don´t smoke.
  • LocationCzechia, Jihočeský kraj, Strakonice, Skály

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Building
    Farmstay
    Gardening
  • Hours per day as we agree
  • Work requirements: We are reconstructing a house so there is some work. In spring there is many works in gardening and in the summer we make a hay. So for your healthy you can´t have a dust or pollen allergy if you want to be there. Also we can´t stand the smokers.

    We signed up for Workaway because we want to get to know new people 2. we want to learn some languages ​​and improve our English 3. We need help with work. Also here in the summer we dry hay for our goats.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 14-30 days
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:Czech, English
  • Has pets? We have a lot of animals, hens, ducks, dog, cats, goats.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Accommodation in a small house, which you would have just for yourself, has 2x 7m² (has 2 floors). There's a stove, so warm. There is also a couch, a table and one small table. Water is not there, but electricity is there. Internet Access isn´t there but some Internet Access is in our house and sometime we can turn on the WI-FI for you.
  • Additional info
  • In your free time you can walk to the castles, bathe in a large outdoor swimming pool. You can rest under the shadow of a large elm tree. Playing the guitar some Czech songs by the fire. And you can teach us some your songs. Among other things we can play some desk games. Observe the sunsets after the work. Oversaturate with strawberries and cherries. Learn with each other with us (you can learn Czech and we English or any other language you can). We have a car and when we get to the city, if you want to, we can take you with us. And a lot of other things.

    You can go to the swimming pool, go to castles (there is the smallest newest castle in the Czech republic), have a good meal (we usually make risotto, pizza, mixed with rice, pasta with some sauce, potatoes with something, bread, foccaccia, pancakes, waffles, we also make goat cheese and cottage cheese ...). You can also learn to mow (with scythe), milk, learn Czech (and you will be our teacher of English or other languages :)). And a lot of other things and things that are commonplace for us, but they can be of benefit to you. Such as playing with animals.