Tranquility and fresh air in an abandoned village surrounded by nature near Glina, Croatia

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Tranquility and fresh air in an abandoned village surrounded by nature near Glina, Croatia

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionThe Property & Us
    We are mother and daughter who recently purchased 5 hectares of land in an abandoned village. The property is mainly forest and there are no house or buildings, yet. We envision a place where we live in harmony with God's word and the nature around us. We are a Bible believing family and our daily life and our vision for this place are based on our biblical beliefs and calling.

    We want to live sustainably, grow our own garden and raise our own chickens, etc. Everything here is off-grid, with water from our own well/rainwater and solar powered electricity, therefore, the electricity is also limited.

    Our property is located remotely - 6km down a forest road, which means we live 6km from the nearest paved road and any form of transport. From there, there’s around 5km to the nearest town, Glina. In Glina you will find a collection of local shops and a nice café street in centrum, but nothing big. There’s 70km to Zagreb and 50km to Sisak, where they have a cosy centrum with different shops and many cafés/restaurants.

    We are surrounded by forrest and wild nature, therefore, it’s important that you feel comfortable and can live without being surrounded by people, things to see, places to go and modern day technology. Due to our own work-schedule and need for privacy we can’t be available to entertain you in your free-time. It’s, therefore, important that you are okay with enjoying your free-time by yourself. We will, at best, try to accommodate several volunteers at once, so there are more people to interact with during your stay, but this cannot be guaranteed.
  • LocationCroatia, Sisačko-moslavačka županija, Općina Glina, Gornji Viduševac

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Building
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    Help with eco project
  • Hours per day 5 hours/day. Due to the heat we usually get up at 5am and work till 10-11am. After that we ussually do something else like work online, read a book, go to town, etc.
  • Work requirements: Skills needed:

    Garden

    Permaculture – Our goal is to sustain our family, volunteers and guests with homegrown produce as much as possible, but in a non-intrusive way to the nature. If you have any skills or knowledge within permaculture and organic farming, it would be much appreciated. We are still learning about permaculture and testing what works in our environment

    Gardening/Maintenance – Experience with gardening or outdoor work, but not specifically permaculture? No problem! Anyone who’s experienced with digging, ragging, sweat and getting dirt under their nails are welcome. There’s a lot of manual work to clear brush, build terraces on the hill, dig out/fixing the waterhole, make steps in the forest, collecting firewood, clearing scrub and much more!

    Construction:

    Handyman/woman – Do you know how to work with wood and other materials in general? Fixing things, building a chicken pen, firewood shed, etc. Any skills that can help us with these smaller projects are more than welcome.

    Construction/Carpenter: First building project would be the horse stable. We are thinking to make it with earthbags or old tires, but we are still planning the design. The stable needs a roof, so if you have any carpentry skills, this would be a good opportunity to add to your portfolio.

    Animals:

    Horse trainer – We would need someone experienced with young horses to teach basic groundwork, and possibly basic riding skills for the oldest. We keep our horses barefoot and value natural horsemanship. The goal is trail riding, so if you have experience with this it would be great. As a horse trainer you would have the daily responsibility for both horses and their enclosures, with everything that includes.

    Horse care – Not a horse trainer, but have experience with horses? That’s alright! However, it’s important to keep in mind that they are young, spooky and full of energy, so you need to be able to deal with this. Keep in mind, they are not traditional well-behaved stable horses, so you must have some knowledge and experience with different horses outside the arena. Daily work could include feeding, cleaning the stable/enclosure, grooming, desensitizing and taking them for daily walks in the area.

    There are many more projects depending on how long you decide to stay with us, and how well we get along.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: We prefer people to stay minimum 1-2 weeks.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 3
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:Native Danish, Fluent English, Intermediate German
  • Has pets? Currently we have 2 horses, 2 goats and 2 dogs.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: ACCOMMODATION: We recently acquired this land so we are only in the beginning stages. We have a cotton tent that we can offer – it's a 5m Bell tent (19sqm) and can accommodate three same-sex workawayers or a couple. There are good camping beds and we will provide duvets, blankets, pillows, etc. for a comfortable stay.

    We also have two good-quality hammocks that are great for shorter stays or for someone who’s adventurous.

    TOILET FACILITIES: We are off-grid and are just getting started, so everything is basic here. We can offer a camping toilet that you'll need to empty every few days. The shower is done by heating water over the fire/gas and doing it the old-fashioned way with a bowl and soap bar. If you stay around, you might be the one who helps build the actual toilet :-)
  • Additional info
  • Please note, due to our own health concerns, we are unable to accommodate covid-19 vaccinated people until further scientific studies on the long-term effects have been performed. This is not meant as a discriminating measure, but simply to ensure our own safety.