Texas Longhorn Farm with lots of different projects

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Texaslonghornat

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Texas Longhorn Farm with lots of different projects

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionWe, that is Micha, Elisabeth and 4 Kids ( Twin Girls born 2015, 2 boys born 2016 and 2018) plus Loki our herding dog live on a rented farm in an area called Waldviertel in Lower Austria. We breed Texas Longhorn Cattle as first breeder in Austria which is quite challenging, as this includes bus tours for groups that have never seen this cattle race around here, quite a lot of intressted visitors that need a lot of information and lots and lots of international contacts. We also do pastured poultry in special "chicken boxes" that move daily and also started that type of project as first in Austria. We are constently building up customers and amount of Chickens we raise during pasture season. Although we are not certified we carry the organic way in our hearts. No chemical fertilzer, hormones or antibiotics go into our animals. Micha is a former apprentice of Polyface Farms (Joel Salatin). We run a 24/7 shop with 35+ farmers that supply that with products. Elisabeth works with Homepathie on our animals and family a lot. We like to cook seasonal and regional incredients in international and local dishes. But we also like ordering Pizza every once in a while. ;-)

    We speak English quite fluently and of course German. ;-) . We live in an interessting area and can give you ideas of what can be done around here besides being on the farm. We would take you with us when we do family trips.
  • LocationAustria, Niederösterreich, Melk, Laas

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Babysitting / Childcare
    Gardening
    Help in the house
    Help with computers / internet
    Language practice
    Other
  • Hours per day Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (more is welcome of course ;-) )
  • Work requirements: Open minded, not afraid to get dirty if needed, Child friendly, honest
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 14 days onwards
  • Maximum number of helpers: 1
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, German
  • Has pets? Dog (but we have cattle, chicken and soon we will have sheep)
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Room on your own - everything else is shared
  • Additional info
  • We cook fresh home cooked meals every day or every other day (if enough is left for a second lunch). Breakfast and dinner is also a fixed family gettogether and we like see everybody joining. Otherwise, our fridge is always full.