Tenterden

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Whorganics@gmail.com

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Tenterden

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionRetired Farm Manager Simon and his wife Eileen We have a large , and sometimes productive garden and do most of our own house repairs.
    You will have to opportunity to experience all aspects of what it is like to live in the north of Scotland, it's culture, music, weather, local people . you will meet on daily basis people from all walks of life( Somewhat restricted at the moment because of Covid, there is much less social interaction) . Have the chance to practise your English . the surrounding district is ideal for walking and exploring .
    We are very easygoing and have been using volunteers from various organizations for the past 20 years.
    Being active by nature I always have new projects on the go....unfortunately being 80 yrs old limits just how much I can do on my own. Hence the need for volunteers with practical skills. There is the maintenance to do in our own house. life is never dull here, the weather can be a bit daunting on occasion but the village friendliness makes up for that.
    We have lived most of our lives in S. America ...Argentina, jamaica, and Brasil. and really enjoy meeting people from there.

    We are no longer functioning as a B&B, because of the complications with Covid. We offer our guests Self-catering accommodation.

    This means that there is very little paid work, especially before Easter. There are however at the moment opportunities in the village to get casual paid work which we are quite happy to accommodate around your volunteer hours.
  • LocationUnited Kingdom, Scotland, Highland Council

  • Work
  • Type of work Building
    General maintenance
    Helping with tourists
  • Hours per day 5 hours a day 5 days a week
  • Work requirements: Being sociable
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: Normally i month
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, Spanish, Portuguese, French(Less)
  • Has pets? Cat and hens
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: The accommodation is in a cabin in the garden, heated by a wood burner. this gives the volunteer a private space ,where they can enjoy their privacy . Most of the time volunteers will be expected to cook for themselves, a generous money food allowance is paid each week, so they can buy what they like in the local Tesco. Sometimes we will share meals so as to have social contact
  • Additional info