Surf, urban permaculture & elderly companion

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Surf, urban permaculture & elderly companion

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionIf you would like to enjoy a warm summer between the beach and the RAMSAY (environmentally) listed Peel estuary with modern comfort for very little work exchange this might be for you. Spend the mornings before the sea breeze exploring the aqua blue bays and coastal reef areas. Surfing, swimming, snorkelling and fishing are popular here.

    Falcon is a suburb of Mandurah situated 80 kms from Perth. Our urban permaculture home is less than 1 km to the beach. The Peel region offers great nature areas short drives away including the Lane Pool reserve in the Dwellingup Forest. (Treetop adventures, Zip lining, river tranquility etc). We are about 2 1/2 - 3 hours drive from Margaret River.
  • LocationAustralia, Western Australia, City of Mandurah, Falcon

  • Work
  • Type of work Cooking / Shopping
    Elderly care
    Gardening
  • Hours per day Most days - one to two hours engagement with my mother and the garden from 5pm to 6 or 7 pm when Mum feeds her poodle and then has her dinner. The needs of the garden are hard to estimate -less than one a day, unless you are keen to do more.
  • Work requirements: What I am looking for sits between a house sit and a work exchange. I will not be here for 3 months and need to leave my newly set up edible forest (permaculture design) back yard to my 90 year old mother. She is fit and can weed and water but her memory is not great (and her willingness to acknowledge this changes from day to day) so I will reticulate the yard and make everything as easy as possible. The tropical apples are ripening, there are a couple of papayas that should be ready over the time I am away, and maybe a bunch of grapes, fejoas, or an orange, but it is a young garden. There are a few herbs, beetroot, carrots, cress, strawberries and the tomatoes should be overflowing by then. I need someone to monitor their water and nutrient needs, check for damage (insects, wind etc) and especially top up the nature pond once or twice a week with rain water (needs pump turned on).

    My mother can cook simple meals for herself but some communal cooking would be great. Shopping for a few fresh essentials will be needed.
    If you have skills like reticulation laying, or timber deck laying or are interested in composting and planting over summer I can arrange for this, but if you just want to be a safety net observer/companion doing light gardening then that is OK as well.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: Minimum 2 weeks up to 3 months
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? 1 toy poodle
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: There is a bedroom with a double bed and ensuite downstairs with adjoining reading room suitable for yoga. If I am not here you may have access to my upstairs ‘parent retreat’. It has estuary glimpses, great cross ventilation breezes (and an air conditioner), 2 balconies (south and north) open space bar nook (sink, bench top, bar fridge, can provide microwave), lounge area, bedroom space and en-suite. I have a gas cooker on the balcony (if you can make a solar oven I am all for it) but I would expect you to cook /prepare the main meal downstairs in the kitchen.
  • Additional info
  • The house is walking distance to beach, cycling distance to surf breaks and family recreation area beach (Falcon). The bus goes down our street and connects to the train station connecting you to Perth. Use of vehicle (mini-van) may be possible.