Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Alistair Trotman

Host

References

Log in or register to check

London, Sunny, sustainable, off grid Houseboats with friendly young tenants and volunteers seek extra help for basic DIY, cooking, administration, cleaning and painting

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionJan 2019, Off grid houseboats in zone 6 SW London, Near Kingston upon Thames, on the oyster card London Travel network. We are a large group 20 plus of young tenants and volunteers living on the houseboats. We have every thing you need, Electricity and lighting 24/7, hot showers, hot spot Internet, warm coal burners,plenty drinking water from town supply, kitchen with hob, bbq/Oven, comfortable full sized beds. We are walking distance to a London oyster travel card train station, Hampton Court (palace) Central London with its free museums and art galleries is a 35 minute train ride away. The glorious royal parks with wild deer, London's largest within walking distance and of course the glorious tree lined riverside with fantastic bird life to walk or cycle along. People are very friendly along the river. Immediate or delayed start possible. Ana who has written a reference here is happy speak with any volunteer first before they come. She supervises my volunteers and tenants.
    All volunteers the first week is a trial to see that your a willing sensible cheerful worker, you are also trialling us :) We host volunteers all times of year and normally have about 6 volunteers and many other young clients so plenty of company for as little as one week of many months! After two weeks you can get a part time or full time job in the neighbour hood or London. Work for me around those hours or you could become a paying tenant, or just stay and enjoy river and park life as volunteer indefinitely. Longer the better stay of a good worker, many months is possible, one of my volunteers has stayed 5 years lol and now has full time job and is tenant. Winter work is mainly inside, Spring and summer we will be putting up panels for interior, its simple clean work anyone can help, move and hold materials while i or handy person screws into place or fixes, basic maintenance under supervision of skilled handyman, putting smart new cladding on barges, helping load car and load rubbish bags and recycling to appropriate disposal points, building website, helping marketing, greeting guests, making up beds after their stay. I buy all food and your own private room or shared with your friend if you want bring a friend, for only 20 hours a week after the first two weeks at 25 hours a week. If for whatever reason i am away, it might be you get your own food and I just provide accommodation, in which case it will be only 14 flexible hours week help. Or even less depending on your back ground and abilities, we discuss. I also have paid some volunteers for extra hours which is also possible, subject to suitable passport or visa. I buy some beers, wine and occasionally get you a pub meal when we too lazy to cook lol. I can get you into Kew Gardens worlds largest botanic garden for free after a two week stay. www.kew.org as I an annual member Its a great sleep on tranquil river, normally none or little traffic noise, loads of bird life, lots of fun people by riverside summer and autumn, large mature trees hundreds of years old by river. So all things possible, short and long stays, you would find me very flexible, communicative and supportive. I am interested to know all your skills and experience in order to see what assistance you maybe able to give. Regards Alistair :) (an easygoing kiwi) Please email me if your interested in coming and ask any question you like.
  • LocationUnited Kingdom, England, Greater London

  • Work
  • Type of work Building
    Cooking / Shopping
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with computers / internet
    Helping with tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • Hours per day 25 flexible hours a week, for food and accommodation, normally mornings early evening but we rotate evening and weekend duties, you will always get at least 2 full days off a week after 9.30 am often more by arrangement. A skilled worker will do less time
  • Work requirements: Willing, cheerful, reliable, worker, good communicator. It will take you three days to adjust, do not come unless you committed for three days. Bring sturdy work shoes, work clothing, I have all bedding.
    Bring sandals for swimming in the lush clean river Thames. Thames its v clean river that we swim in with sandals on to protect feet. we use portable camping / caravan/ boating toilets, You can charge your phone and laptop daily.


  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: as long as possible for a good helper!
  • Maximum number of helpers: 8
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, Spanish
  • Has pets? no
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Your own private houseboat cabin or shared with your partner or friend, or other volunteer of same sex. Simple, comfortable, loads of storage on shelves and under bed,
  • Additional info
  • The Thames riverside is beautiful , green, spacious and historic, with much to explore. Houseboats not as comfortable than a house but much more comfortable than camping and we have all essentials that you need. walk slowly, pick up any trip or slip hazards before you pass them. Please bear in mind that people from many countries will not get a visa to stay long time in UK and I cannot help with visas check before contacting me. Please email any questions.


    Disclaimer: Please bear in mind that people from certain countries are not actually able to get a visa to stay long term in the UK, please be aware of that and check that by yourself before applying, I cannot help with visas.