Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Stonehouse Farm

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionLocated 90 miles west of Chicago, our eco-sanctuary and retreat center is a seasonal facility (May-October) that is used to host workshops, retreats, festivals, gatherings and events that promote healthy living, creative arts, spirituality, sustainability, and getting closer to nature. Yoga is also a focus; you can expect a yoga class every day (either led, or self-practice time) at the farm.

    This farm-turned campground-turned retreat center is looking forward to another season with much growing to do. We have a vibrant community with much excitement about the beginning stage and the possibilities of things to come. We need your help to make this a true sanctuary, sustainable not only to the ecosystem, but financially as well. We have a limited budget, creative means are necessary and encouraged to get things done. There is a lot of work to do but there is even more fun to be had. 37 beautiful acres, towering oaks, historic barns, fireflies, campfires, starry nights, a swimming pond and a positive loving community. Come join us...
    Looking for minimum 3 day stays. Also looking for resident interns for 2-4 month commitments. Tent accommodations with communal kitchen and hot showers.
  • LocationUnited States, Illinois, Christian County, Taylorville

  • Work
  • Type of work gardening, cleaning, cooking, and fix up projects
  • Hours per day yoga and meditation practice 7:30-9am, breakfast 9-10am, then work projects 10am-6pm with breaks for food and snacks
  • Work requirements: positive attitude, interest in yoga or meditation, interested in peace and cool vibes
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 3 days
  • Maximum number of helpers: 15
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? no pets
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: tents and maybe yurts
  • Additional info