Stay in the beautiful Oregon Coast Range

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Stay in the beautiful Oregon Coast Range

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionThis opportunity is for one person (no pets) for the months of Augustl 1st through November 1st starting in 2021. Because of our semi-remote location (30 miles to Beaverton), it is advisable to have a car unless you are content not leaving the property much while you are here. Unfortunately, public transportation out here is very limited. You must be willing to commit to at least one month (optimally you would stay for the entire period). The property is located at the base of the Oregon coast range and consists of primarily forestland with pastures, creeks, a pond, springs and much more. The wildlife is abundant with beavers, otters, eagles, osprey, salmon (in the fall in our creek on the property), cougars, deer, elk and more. We have an amazing paved 21 mile bicycle trail (Banks-Vernonia State Trail) that runs through the middle of the property … so if you are a cycling enthusiast you will be very happy here. We are 3 miles down the bike trail from Stub Stewart State Park. Stub has a significant mountain biking trail complex, Frisbee golf course and much more.

    We are located approximately 38 miles from Portland and 50 miles from Cannon Beach on the Oregon coast. We are also 6 miles down the bike trail from the small town of Vernonia which has most everything you need as far as supplies go.

    We have the expectation that you will work 25 hours per week (we are somewhat flexible on the schedule). The projects you will work on will vary tremendously and might involve: maintaining the garden, prepping and planting new gardens, cleaning yurts, cooking in the food cart, painting, general cleaning (bathrooms, lodge etc.) or whatever else needs to be done. In exchange for the 25 hours of work we will provide you with a nice cabin (see photo) and meals. The cabin doesn't have a bathroom or a kitchen. There is a new bathroom and shower building available for your use. You will use the food cart as your personal kitchen. We provide you with cooking ingredients so you can cook complete, healthy and good tasting meals (3 per day) for each of your work days. We do not provide beverages or junk food so please plan accordingly. There is room in the refrigerator for any food you would like to keep for yourself. The only cell coverage is through AT&T, however we have excellent wifi broadband that will allow you to do wifi calling, etc.

    Smoking is only allowed in outside designated areas only. If drugs and alcohol are a problem for you to manage this will not be the place for you. We are a drama free zone! Smoking pot, drinking alcohol or taking drugs during working hours is not allowed under any circumstance due to safety considerations.

    All stays begin with a one-week trial to confirm both parties are satisfied with the arrangements. We have never had anyone not stay after the first week ... but we think it is wise for both parties to have this option :-)

    We look forward to hearing from you!

    Jeff and Julie
  • LocationUnited States, Oregon, Columbia County, Vernonia

  • Work
  • Type of work Cooking / Shopping
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with eco project
    Helping with tourists
    Other
  • Hours per day 5 hours per day five days a week (we are flexible when establishing schedule)
  • Work requirements: Having gardening and housekeeping experience would be very helpful. This opportunity involves light physical work all day. Walking, lifting, bending etc.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 1-6 months
  • Maximum number of helpers: 1
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? You would have your own cabin. There are two barn cats and a dog visits sometimes.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: In exchange for 25 hours of work per week, you would have your own very nice cabin and we would provide food for you to cook. You would have access to a professional food cart to use as your own private kitchen.
  • Additional info
  • No additional info provided