STAY IN RURAL WILTSHIRE TO HELP CARE OF SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD & DOGS

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

STAY IN RURAL WILTSHIRE TO HELP CARE OF SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD & DOGS

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionI am a single mum with my youngest child still living at home aged 15 years... my 21 yr old daughter is in her last year at university, so visits home during her breaks and an 18 yr old boy who lives in London but comes home most week ends. I also have 2 very friendly and eccentric dogs... 13yrs and 4 year old rescue dog, who is still learning recall and other commands.
    My children's father visits most week ends to help look after our youngest who is disabled; he is a film producer living in London.
    I am a Yoga Teacher/Therapist about to start my training to become an integrative Yoga Psychotherapist... I am developing my home to become a Yoga Therapy Centre for inner peace and healing. I also teach teenagers and young people with special needs.
    My disabled son is very cute and everyone loves him as he is very easy going with an infectious smile and laughter.
    I am looking for some help with my 15 year old son who is severely disabled with severe global developmental delay due to a rare genetic disorder known as FoxG1 syndrome. All training is given... eg lifting, hoisting, learning to give medication, helping with physio, providing creative play therapy, feeding, dressing, changing incontinence pads etc. Some driving is needed to take him to activities at weekends.
    other help needed would be to help with housework.. keeping kitchen and communal areas clean and tidy, laundry, helping with dogs and meals
    I am a flexible single parent working from home teaching Yoga and seeing clients for their health and wellbeing, so need help in particular on Fridays 4-8 pm & 2 saturdays a month; someone who could help out withother carers are off sick and to do some baby sitting.... I need someone to stay a minimum of 3 months
    This is an opportunity to learn the life living with disability, getting to know the beautiful Wiltshire country side... Bath Roman Baths, Salisbury Cathedral, Stonehenge, Avebury are all near... with lots of spare time and maybe find other work to save for your travels.
    This exhange would offer the opportunity to learn about living with disability - understanding physio, occupational and play therapy... learning about safe ways to work with a vulnerable child; taking on creative play.
    I am a yoga therapist and teacher, with a home that I am hoping to set up as a retreat centre... so I look forward to sharing various holistic approaches to life; I am also half indian and love cooking Indian food and indian culture; I used to work in theatre and film and have an extensive library of art & film books and more.
  • LocationUnited Kingdom, England, Wiltshire, Market Lavington

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Babysitting / Childcare
    Help in the house
  • Hours per day Set hours would be Fridays 4-8 pm every week
    Saturdays 9.30 am - 7.30 pm twice per month
    Some weekends I may need help Sundays and babysitting to allow me to attend my course in London... sharing the care of dogs and my son with other carers
  • Work requirements: Some experience of childcare, initiative, a creative mind and willing to learn and to be flexible with their time
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 3 months
  • Maximum number of helpers: 1
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? 2 dogs
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: a doube ensuite bedroom within a spacious home with various areas to find space to either be alone or be socialable
  • Additional info
  • I love to cook but with my busy schedule I cook very simple vegetarian food for myself which you would be welcome to share with me; my son Jai, and other son when home love meat so I do cook some meat dishes for them. You would be able to use our large kitchen... I am happy to share basic food with you and you are welcome to bring food in to cook for yourself too.... I tend to be teaching most evenings but I would love to share meal times with you too when possible.... my two dogs are happy to join you too.
    We live very rural... so it is fairly quiet especially at week ends and we have a large garden with hottub that you can use; a car or vehicle would be needed - and I would have to have a DBS completed to check your history which will be paid for.