Spurtopia Homestead - Sustainable Paradise

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Spurtopia Homestead - Sustainable Paradise

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionWE, Roman (a sustainable design engineer) Jana (full-time mum) and our daughters Lada nearly 4 yrs old & Zlata 1 year old, live what we preach. In the past we transformed an inner city rented property into a productive food source and lived sustainably in complete happiness. You could see and hear us on the ABC TV's Gardening Australia, Bris 31 TV's Blooming in Brisbane, radio interviews, newspapers, magazines or presentations, workshops and conferences. Our family passionately share our knowledge, experience, ideas and inventions. Our sustainable living story and working towards self-sufficiency (growing food, making home produce, up-cycling materials, using urban environment to our benefit) make us less reliant on the society. We created SpurTopia – A Small Kingdom of Happiness www.SpurTopia.blogspot.com.au

    We recently bought a property (a double story house with a swimming pool on 4500 m2 of land) in Fernvale, which we are converting into a sustainable paradise (establishing organic garden and orchard) according to permaculture principles and renovating the house to achieve a green credentials.

    Fernvale is a small town with surrounding picturesque rolling hills. At Sunday markets you can buy local produce, while at the local Fernvale Old Bakery Australia’s best pies. Nearby, about 5 min drive is a Savages crossing (Brisbane River) which provides a great swimming opportunity. About 10 min drive is Lake Wivenhoe – great for water sports and fishing. It is about 20 minute drive to Ipswich and 45 minute drive to Brisbane.

    We invite singles or couples to come and stay with us in order to help with cleaning, cooking, house renovation, establishing and maintaining garden and looking after kids. In exchange you will learn skills of sustainable self-sufficient living (permaculture principles, growing organic food, solar cooking, raw food and fermentation, beekeeping, up-cycling materials and handy man skills). You will have your own room and use of the house and eat with us mostly fresh raw organic food. We can pick you up or give a lift by a car if needed.

    We look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Roman & Jana & Lada & Zlata

  • LocationAustralia, Queensland, Somerset Regional, Fernvale

  • Work
  • Type of work Permaculture projects, gardening, household cleaning,
  • Hours per day 5hr per day, flexible on time
  • Work requirements: Non- smoker please
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: around 1 week,but flexible
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, Czech
  • Has pets? No
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: You will have your own two bed room with beautiful nature views in the house we live in.
    We provide nutrition rich organic food mostly from our garden.
  • Additional info