Spend Some Time Helping Outdoors on an Island

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Spend Some Time Helping Outdoors on an Island

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionWe have been developing 5 acres on Salt Spring Island in beautiful British Columbia, Canada for the last 10 years. We are building new garden areas and improving those that we started over the decade. A lot of the work will be related to digging new areas, planting, mixing soil, etc. We also have a lot of wood to be chopped using a hydraulic wood chopper as well as stacking this firewood.

    We eat very healthy with a lot from our gardens. We are mostly vegetarian. We prefer to take in one worker at a time.

    We can offer you very comfortable accommodations with internet. You will have your own full bathroom and your private space where you can enjoy your breakfast. We will be pleased to eat our main meals together in our home. Of course all of the food is part of what we have to offer for your help in our projects.

    We are a retired couple and have a lot of energy and plans. No children.

    We live in a very beautiful area near the ocean (5 minutes) and our property is next to one of the best hiking trails on this island. There is a lot to do here on this island and Vancouver is very close and easy to get to. Most workers that have stayed with us have taken the time to visit Vancouver Island including Victoria, Tofino and other areas directly on the Pacific ocean.

    Sorry we are not set up to take in couples and we prefer to have young men as most of our projects require considerable physical strength.
  • LocationCanada, British Columbia, Cowichan Valley

  • Work
  • Type of work Building
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help with eco project
  • Hours per day We usually start our day around 9AM and have an hour for lunch wrapping up around 4PM at least 4 days/week. Seeing as we live in a rainforest areas there are days we will not be able to do as much as planned.
  • Work requirements: Ready to work outside and we can provide all the necessary work clothes (gloves, jackets, boots, etc.)
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: At least 2 weeks
  • Maximum number of helpers: 1
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, French
  • Has pets? No pets just a lot of wildlife on our 5 acres near the pacific ocean.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Your own private accommodations and your own full bath
  • Additional info
  • All meals will be provided with healthy food mostly from our many gardens. As well you will be able to use one of our velos to get around and we will help you plan visits to other areas to get to see the beauty of Canada's west coast islands.