Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

South Golden Beach

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionHi there
    I am an ESL teacher in Byron who would like some help around my house in exchange for accommodation and whatever is growing in my garden. I like to share food, but don't want to obligation to feed you so I ask for fewer hours. This is because I work so much. Cooking can be part of your work trade as long as the kitchen is cleaned and dishes done. The nightly kitchen clean most likely will be part of your exchange even if you don't cook.

    I would like someone who has building and handy skills to do some maintenance around the house and depending on your qualifications etc, maybe other building stuff. There is also some gardening and cleaning to do. My goal is to build a self-sustaining garden and yard, however, the soil is marginal and needs a lot of inputs so it is still a work in progress. I use straw bales as my technique and this works well. I want to build an outdoor shower stall, whose water feeds the garden and a chicken coop and re-do my front yard. This includes moving bricks and gravel around back for the shower stall. Nothing is too hard and I look forward to the company too.

    I work 5 days a week and would like to still move forward on my plans, which is why I need help.

    My house is strictly vegetarian and I work hard on being waste free so you would have to do the same. I am very much into permaculture and since I live in a suburb, I want to promote urban agriculture and eventually have a honesty box to sell food out the front of my house.

    My house is only 2 blocks from a gorgeous open beach that isn't too crowded. There's 2 cafe's in close range and I have a few bikes that you can use. I am a 25 minute drive from Byron Bay and Mullumbimby and it's better if you have your own car but of course when I go to work you can jump in with me. People do hitch-hike here but that is up to you and your confidence.

    I have a master bedroom with an ensuite to offer and the house is is comfy and lived in. It is an open plan and get a lot of sun, however, the house is new and insulated so it doesn't get too uncomfortable in the hot season. The back deck has a new roof that allows you to spend time out there without either getting too hot or rained on. There is also a front porch too. There is a lot of wildlife especially birds (parrots and kookaburras) and the road isn't too busy. It's a really friendly neighbourhood and community.

    I will also help you with your English as it is my passion and my job.
  • LocationAustralia, New South Wales, Byron Shire Council, Ocean Shores

  • Work
  • Type of work Building
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with eco project
  • Hours per day I will ask for 2 hours a day for 5 days of the week for the accomodation but you will be expected to provide most of your own food though I hope that we can share food together from both of our stocks. The food in the garden is also available.
  • Work requirements: You must eat vegetarian food and be prepared to learn how to live without too much packaged food. I like to cook from scratch and hope that you do too.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: I am flexible as it depends on your skills and what you can do. If you are here to help build then you must commit to finish.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? I have a hairless cornish rex senior cat. He's an absolute love bubble and you must like cats to stay.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: You will have the master bedroom with the ensuite. The ensuite must stay pristine and the shower mould free. You will have access to laundry and a full kitchen. There is a wonderful back deck. I have unlimited internet and there is home phone though no international calls.
  • Additional info
  • I am a passionate greenie and love to exchange ideas and innovations to make this world a better place. I am not into any kind of climate denial or conspiracy theories. If you want to learn more on how to have a smaller footprint then I am your host. I also love to share my cooking ideas if you are just starting out your journey on cooking without packaging.
    I am not a drinker but I am a smoker.