Solawi Zabergäu

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
Register Log In


Solawi Zabergäu



Log in or register to check

Solawi Zabergäu

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionThe farm was established in autumn 2014. Cultivated area is 6 ha and 0,8 ha greenhouse area under organic conditions (demeter association). In spring 2015 we started our CSA (community supported agriculture) and delivered our first vegetables in june the same year.

    We grow more than 100 different vegetables and herbs to give our costumers a wide range of products year round. At the moment we try to establish a Seed Cooperation with some other nearby farmers. Since summer 2016 we have two alpaca and six sheep on the farm. We planted already a couple of trees for the permaculture garden.

    For 2017 our new projects are:
    - finishing our first permaculture garden
    - start chicken and duck keeping
    - make a pond for aquaculture
    - extending the production of herbs, for tea, spice mixtures
    - start to create the space for our Bauernhof-Kindergarten (Free Farm Kindergarden)

    Everybody who enjoys working on a small scale farm in a nice and familiar atmosphere is welcome on our farm!
    We are at the moment a team of three young people working and exploring the world of organic farming and solidarity agriculture! Join us if you like!

    We speak German, English, Portuguese, basic Persian and basic Spanish.

    We work together with FoodSharing. It is a cooperation to save food before it enters the dumpster. The food is shared at our farm or in refugee camps. If you are interested in that topic you can join one of us during the weekly pick ups.

    We can provide vegetarian and vegan meals.

    Nice to see round here is a old monastery (Maulbronn). Stuttgart and Heidelberg are nearby (half hour with train, one hour by car).

    In summer you can go swimming in lakes or swimming pools (20 min car drive).

    We can provide place to stay for 3, maximum 5 helpers in separated rooms. One house of the farm is for apprenticeships and volunteers with kitchen, shower and living room.

    All meals are provided. We work as well on a worldwide volunteer cookbook. Therefore we really like if you cook a traditional meal from your country :-)
  • LocationGermany, Baden-Württemberg, Stuttgart, Brackenheim

  • Work
  • Type of work The volunteer work is mainly gardening or farming in the greenhouse or on the field. But there are different works as well, because we live all close together we cook together and care together about the house. Everybody does part of the job, then it is easily done ;-)
    Gardening work is, depending on the time you stay here, seeding, planting, watering, harvesting. We deliver our products weekly to our costumers. If you want to train your german skills this could be a possible work as well.
    In 2016 we want to start animal keeping. Here we would need help with the fences and preparing food and water as well as just spending some time with the animals to make them used to humans.
    Another project this year is the establishing of an permaculture garden. Next to designing and establishing, art projects with natural materials are welcome.
    The construction of a solar dryer for our herbs would require some handicraft skills. If you are up to that, it would be great.
    If you write to us let us know in which field you are interested. If you don`t know it exactly, it is also no problem. Then you just can work with the core team of gardeners and maybe discover what you are interested in :-)
  • Hours per day Minimum 5 hours per day. Weekend is free. If you want a long weekend like friday or monday off, it is usually no problem.
  • Work requirements: * Open to live in a community like place
    * work can be sometimes tough, like bit rainy or sunny -> but if you do not feel well there is no must of work
    * willing to learn new ways of doing agriculture
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: preferably one month or longer, minimum 2 weeks
  • Maximum number of helpers: 7
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, German, portuguese, un poco espanol
  • Has pets? one cat (not in volunteers house), but always likes some attention in the garden place
    six sheep
    two alpaca
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Usually single room in a nearby apartment to the farm (neighbouring house). With new renovated kitchen and bathroom. If there are more than 5 helpers, they will have accommodation in the farm house. Where we usually eat together.
  • Additional info