Small off-grid organic subsistence farm in the making.

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Steph and Carsten

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Small off-grid organic subsistence farm in the making.

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionSetting up our off-grid subsistence farm. We farm organically using a mixture of alternative farming and gardening methods. We are currently building our house ourselves and building vegetable gardens, farm fences, planting fruit and nut trees as well as ornamental trees, landscaping, general maintenance, etc. We currently milk our goats and make yoghurt and cheese and will be milking our sheep soon too.
    We are a couple with a young daughter with special needs so if you have experience with nursing, carer roles or physical therapy then there may be some opportunies to help with that also.
  • LocationNew Zealand, Northland, Mangonui

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Babysitting / Childcare
    Building
    Cooking / Shopping
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with eco project
  • Hours per day 5 hours per day. Usually not before 9:00am unless you choose to, we can be pretty flexible.
    Total 25 hours per week. We encourage 5 hours per day with 2 days off but you can choose to fit in your 25 hours how you please, as long as it fits in with us.
  • Work requirements: No children, no pets, no drunks. Prefer single travellers at the moment due to space but will consider couples as well.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: Flexible, ideally a week with option to stay longer if the arrangement is working well.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English and German
  • Has pets? A dog, 2 cats, chickens, ducks, doves, goats, sheep, a pony and a donkey.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: You will be staying in a caravan which is essentially your bedroom and living area. Shower and toilet are separate and shared with your hosts. Please note these are very basic facilities as we are in the process of building our house. The shower is in a shed and the toilet is a longdrop. You will have your own breakfast and lunch making facilities (food provided) and eat dinner with us (except on the occasion when we are home late from appointments for our daughter). We eat mostly vegetarian and are happy to cater to vegetarian/vegan/gluten free diets.
  • Additional info
  • My father also lives on the property when he isn't travelling overseas so sometimes you will be helping him, or my husband, or will be instructed with jobs to do on your own around the farm.
    If you have experience with using a chainsaw/brush cutter, wire fencing, gardening, farm maintenance, etc. we would be particularly interested in hearing from you. However farm experience is not essential as long as you are a hard worker and willing to learn :-) In exchange you will be fed well, mostly organic wholesome food, have a beautiful farm experience in one of New Zealand's most popular holiday destinations. We are 10 minutes from historic Mangonui, close to the Bay of Islands, and only a 2 hour drive to the top of the North Island where the Pacific Ocean and the Tasman Sea meet.
    Please note there is no public transport in our area so if you want to be independent you will need your own vehicle. Otherwise we can pick up and drop off at Kerikeri at the start and end of your stay.