Small homestead in the Cariboo

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Small homestead in the Cariboo

  • Marker details
  • Description
    Located about 20 minutes outside Quesnel, we live on a small acreage where we have a big veggie garden, a greenhouse and some laying hens. (we also have a friendly dog and a cat). We also operate a small dairy manufacturing business on a different property. We welcome anyone that wants to take part in our daily chores or help us with renovations or improvements.
    In the summer, we can offer you to stay on a small cedar cabin, in the backyard, that has a compost toilet and running water. In the winter, we have a spare bedroom.
  • LocationCanada, British Columbia, Cariboo, Quesnel

  • Work
  • Type of work Depending on your skills and your preference, you could give us a hand with cooking, gardening, renovations or small building and repair projects. Also, we welcome any help in other fields of homesteading that we don't really practise yet (beekeeping, canning...)
  • Hours per day In exchange for food and accomodation, we would expect about 4-5 hours of work, at your own pace and we are very flexible on how you would organize your days.
  • Work requirements: You probably need to be comfortable with cats and dogs and with staying in a rural setting (it's a 20 min drive to downtown, but we do have a little store and restaurant here).
    Non smokers would be better as we don't smoke and have a lot of wood at home, but smoking outside is also an option.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: To be discussed
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:french english spanish
  • Has pets? We have two friendly older pets, a cat and a dog.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: We have a small cabin the back that can sleep 2 and has a compost toilet and running water. There is also a spare bedroom in the house.
  • Additional info
  • We both have used work exchange systems when travelling, and had really nice experiences. We hope tohelp you discover our region and share stories with travelers from around the world now.