Sustainable Hobby farm in progress!

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
Register Log In


Peter J. Roberts



Log in or register to check

Sustainable Hobby farm in progress!

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionUpdate: we now have 45 chickens, 4 ducks and 14 quail. We just finished the chicken coop thanks to a helpful neighbor and we are fencing in an area for them. We have many gardens filled with garlic, kiwifruit, grapes, hot peppers, squash, tomatoes, beans, raspberries, strawberries and zucchini. We still have so much to do. We look forward to getting some help!

    Hello, my wife & I purchased this house and property in 2019. There is a 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom house on .33 of an acre. My wife works in Health Care and I, until recently, work in Landscape and carpentry. We intend to create a hobby farm here and use all of the space as efficiently as possible. Unfortunately, I recently injured my back at work and I am on light duties and now walk with a cane. This is where you come in! We have 2 furnished bedrooms that we intended to rent out in an Air B&B situation but our yard is a mess with a lot of projects needing to be done. We need your help in trade for accommodation and meals.
  • LocationCanada, British Columbia, Capital, Sooke

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Cooking / Shopping
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
  • Hours per day 6 to 8 hours per day, 5 to 6 days per week.
  • Work requirements: Preference will be given to no smoking, no partying, generally awesome people. We eat vegetables, seafood, meat and fruit. Generally everything. Right now we purchase most everything but with Your help we will be relatively self sustaining by September 2020!
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: We will start with 1 month and see how it goes.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, Filipino
  • Has pets? No pets yet! Update: we now have 45 chickens, 4 ducks and 14 quail.

    Will be purchasing many animals this Spring and Summer. Chickens, quail, ducks, Blue Heeler Puppy.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: We have 2 furnished rooms available. In the summer months renting outside is available but not mandatory. This is a 4 bedroom house that I have been renovating since July 2019. 1 and a half bathrooms. We share the house with you, full kitchen, living room, sunroom with Piano, small courtyard. We live in desirable Sooke where wild west coast adventures are literally at our doorstep. Our best neighbor is The Galloping Goose Biking trail that stretches from Sooke, BC to Victoria, BC. We are 1 block from the ocean with forest all around!
  • Additional info
  • We look forward to having you stay with us !