Scott's house, large yard on big island

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Scott Forschler

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Scott's house, large yard on big island

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionWe have a 1-acre yard, it's not a farm but does have wild chickens, guava, and sometimes pigs. We basically need unskilled help with weeding, tree management, and general maintenance. We might be able to use a very good cook, especially if you can buy your own food (this can partially substitute for hours worked), and wouldn't turn down a good masseuse, but the main need is in outdoor tasks.

    You can just barely see the ocean and two mountains from the house, but it's too far to walk anywhere interesting, you basically either need to rent a car or use the bus system. The bus has recently been improved, is free, and has a stop 2000' from the house, but it doesn't go everywhere and takes a while to get anywhere on this large island, though a trip to Hilo is pretty easy.
  • LocationUnited States, Hawaii, Hawaii County, Keaau

  • Work
  • Type of work Cooking / Shopping
    Gardening
  • Hours per day 3 hours for each day of your visit (counting arrival and departure days), but you can work whenever you like as long as your reach that total. In fact, flexibility is key because some days you might get rained out.
  • Work requirements: No special skills needed, but you need to be able to do some cutting with tools, carrying loads around the yard, etc.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 2 weeks, but we do ask for a 2 day trial period; unfortunately some visitors came and did no effective work, so we need to be sure you're up to this.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? One dog, a Scottish terrier. wild chickens in the yard--do not fondle! The hens don't trust you and you'll bring mites into the house.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: 1 king bed in a small private room, with a small attached balcony and bathroom a few feet away. So this works best for singles or couples.
  • Additional info
  • There are mosquitoes and fire ants in the area, so dress properly and use spray as needed.