Riverside organic vegetable growing and off grid skills learning

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Rverside off grid vegetables

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Riverside organic vegetable growing and off grid skills learning

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionHelp needed from April 2022 until Nov 22, Please come help us refurbish a barn, plant vegetables on my organic small (3500m2)riverside land with south facing barn. Fence the vegetable plot. All work supervised. I also want to plant fruit and nut trees and create habitat for wildlife. We live off grid with solar panels to USB to charge your phone daily and composting separate male and female toilets. come stay for two nights as my guest, no need to help. If you stay longer than two weeks about growing vegetables, basic land management, sowing and growing vegetables, carpentry, plumbing, electricity, recycling re-purposing materials.
    I wish develop this riverside land to optimise growth of a variety of vegetables and fruits as a knowledge and skills swap centre for volunteers and a place where Volunteers can meet many other volunteers and discuss future and past destinations. In the morning we will do any harder work like digging in the land for two hours then easier work after lunch. Any skill or knowledge you swap with the group that we agree counts as part of your volunteering time. That skill or knowledge you offer maybe key board based. there is reasonable mobile phone signal in the barn and land. More the merrier, you all have some knowledge or skill to swap, I want find out what that is, come stay as my guest, rest after your travels, dont work the day you arrive or the next full day, just help cook dinner, then after two nights if you wish stay longer you can start doing some volunteering or leave having shared some stories with us and made us a little wiser. After part time work interesting activities, any hobby we can think of, films, documentaries, hikes, trips to local village, driving to another much bigger river 15 minutes away, reading, cooking lessons, board and card games, movie nights, full moon party, anything you suggest we will consider if we can implement it. The more there is interesting and fun to do after hours, the longer the volunteer will stay. Toilets are simple portable toilets typical of what you find in a caravan or boat. we have a basic but adequate shower.
    Shower water can be heated on camp fire or in a dark tub in the sun and of course the river to swim in.

    Organic riverside small (3500m2) land, half of it fenced off so good for children and pets, and barn stacked with food and drinking water from town tap. with basic services, heating water with dark tubs in Mediterranean sun or on campfire. Plan 2022 is to plant wild flowers, green vegetable, tomatoes, beans, herbs, medicinal plants, salads and crop planting. We will be developing the off grid plumbing and living areas, electrics, Fun stuff, (we have a solar panel already you can charge you phone and any device that charges by USB on daily basis by directly plugging into it
    I can pick up from local town bus stop, only 1.60 from Beziers gare Routier to Saint Genies De Fontedit a fortified village, work would be average 18 hours a week for food and accommodation, not Sunday. The French have been so supportive and looking out for me in many different little ways. I am so grateful for their help. Vegetarians and meat eaters, we cook separately. I also hope we can swap skills and experiences and learn from each other. I have been living off grid on barges in SW London for 12 years so I have a lot of off grid experience. (you can also volunteer there) Be prepared that all your experiences in past might be called on if you are the most experienced in a field. though no skills are expected just a willing cooperative attitude. I have a car so will be driving volunteers to local sights and the biggest river in the region, the ORB is only 12 minutes drive away, Please email me or whatsapp me to suggest arrival dates If you whatsapp I can send link to a google photo album., Come and learn by doing, I would like to learn from you too. :)
  • LocationFrance, Occitanie, Hérault, Saint-Geniès-de-Fontedit

  • Work
  • Type of work Building
    Cooking / Shopping
    Gardening
    Help in the house
    Help with computers / internet
    Help with eco project
    Teaching
  • Hours per day 18 flexible hours a week. typically breakfast 9am then start on work. we work two hours then have a break or lunch Then two more hours. Cook dinner and doing dishes you claim an hour. Any skill or experience I look to use.
  • Work requirements: Reading and agreeing helpers guidelines, Sturdy work shoes, work shorts and top. Punctual cheerful willing attitude. No skill needed but please be ready to share all your knowledge, experience and skills. I am sure there is something we can learn from you! :)
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: as long as possible for good willing cheerful workers
  • Maximum number of helpers: 8
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English Spanish
  • Has pets? no, you welcome bring your pet
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Barn with private bedroom or sharing with another helper of same sex, beds,or tentsite and tent with mattress or my camper van for a couples privacy.
  • Additional info
  • I will do my best to make your stay comfortable interesting and enjoyable so you want stay a long time. I am very interested in your education, skills and experience. I will want to use as much of that as possible. Yes we can charge your phone's and laptops. Please email me any questions. note I cannot help with visas. Daily showering is with campfire or sun heated water from a tub that you fill with shower in private shower zone. So simple but adequate. Also the small river to swim and refresh in. :)