Providing room and board in exchange for household help

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Jessicaahoffman

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Providing room and board in exchange for household help

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionWe are an "empty nester" young "Ish", or at least young at heart! LOL couple, with spare room, in need of help in our home. We lived in Asia for two years and became involved in a dog rescue, saving dogs from meat trucks, headed to slaughter. We now have FIVE dogs and a cat! While in Asia, we had help and became very close with her entire family!! We miss her very much. Sadly, due to her family ties, she couldn't come back to the states with us. We are in the middle of renovations, so in addition to the normal household things, plus caring for the "zoo", we would be open to a couple, if part of that couple is someone who can provide "handyman" type help. My husband is a pilot who travels internationally and I like to meet him, on his longer trips. For obvious reasons, until we have help, leaving the house is impossible. While five dogs can be overwhelming, we have been doing this on our own since being home- and as long as you establish a routine, it's really pretty simple. You will have plenty of time for "you", to enjoy the beach, take some classes or even work part time. We think we are fun- we love to bbq by the pool, go out on the boat (a small boat- but enough to go wake boarding, day trips on the intercostal, etc. In short, we have fun and you would too!! We love meeting people from all over the world and look forward to meeting you!
  • LocationUnited States, Florida, Palm Beach County

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Cooking / Shopping
    Help in the house
  • Hours per day While there are no "set hours", there are some duties that would be required in the morning, afternoon and evening such as walking the dogs.
  • Work requirements: You MUST love animals. They will know if you don't!! These are rescue dogs. They have had tough lives and are still adjusting. We are working on house breaking, barking, jumping and socializing. We are pretty laid back and will likely be involved with most of what you do. Must be organized, honest and have energy!
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: We would love this to be long-term (years!) as long as possible!
  • Maximum number of helpers: 1
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:english
  • Has pets? FIVE pets! Four dogs and a cat. We have four dachshunds (two mini and two standard) and one "Chinese street dog" who is a mix- looks like he has some boxer and who knows what else!! He's just super cute!
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: You would have your own room and share a bathroom with our son's best friend. He lives with us for now. He's 23 and works full-time. You would share all other living quarters with us, but hopefully will feel as if we are family. You will be welcome to eat meals with us, BBQ with us, or on your own... whatever you feel like!
  • Additional info
  • As I said above, we would love to find a long-term arrangement. We were initially thinking of a single person, but after discussing, we would consider a couple, if it makes sense. We look forward to hearing from you!