Garden Tidyup Algarve

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Garden Tidyup Algarve

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionI am looking for help to tidy our large gardens at a traditional older villa a few KM's from Lagos and Praia da Luz.
  • LocationPortugal, Faro, Bensafrim

  • Work
  • Type of work Gardening
    Other
  • Hours per day 5 hours a day, 4 days a week. 3 free days to do your own thing.
  • Work requirements: Would suit someone physically and mentally healthy. Most of the work will be outside in the garden so bring appropriate clothes, Expect to spend time weeding and tending flower beds, and helping to freshen up the many Orange trees in the orchards. We are also busy fixing some walls around the garden if anyone wants to learn a new skill.
    Please mention any gardening or building experience you have.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 1 week minimum, 1 month maximum.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English + some German & French
  • Has pets? No pets but next door have a couple of friendly old dogs who sometimes vist the garden for a look around. A neighbour grazes sheep and cows nearby.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Private bedroom and all bedding provided, shared bathroom & shower. Shared kitchen & lounge. Assorted fresh fruit grows in the garden depending on the time of year - being able to just pick an orange off the tree when you want a snack is a great feeling.
  • Additional info
  • We are a 10 minute walk from the nearest village which has cafes, a couple of smaller local supermarkets and a very good bus service into nearby Lagos (beaches, shops, several big supermarkets). Public transport in the area is reliable and cheap, trains from Lagos are regular if you want a day out on one of your days off. Ideal location for anyone who enjoys peace and quiet in the countryside as there are lots of lovely walks in all directions, plenty of places to explore and relax if you enjoy unspoiled countryside.
    Just ask if any questions, hope to hear from you soon.