Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Nicholas L. Prince

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Prince Bay Farm

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionThe world comes together at Prince Bay Farm!!!
    The Prince Family has been in the Carolina low-country since the 1670s, and here on this property since 1827. The farm and family have seen many changes throughout the centuries, and is looking to the future!
    An experimental and educational farm/homestead, we are working to bring a high level of self-sufficiency here and to share our knowledge with our visitors. We also offer farmstay & English immersion vacation packages so folks can spend their holiday relaxing on a peaceful farm while improving their language skills. Located somewhere between not too far away and far enough away to just slow down and savor life. Come find us in this new year! Happy 2019, everyone.

    This is the farm’s 9th year hosting visitors. Forty-three countries represented and over 350 folks volunteering, all have helped make the farm/homestead a better place. They have laughed, learned, sweated, grown and eaten some great food. We hope all that spend time here will take something positive away with them. Looking forward to another year of great helpers & guests!
    **for folks who wish to learn about farming methods, it would be better for you to apply during the spring and summer months**
    Located in the Carolina Lowcountry, on the NC/SC border in the lower coastal plain, the farm/homestead is 30 miles N of Myrtle Beach, SC, just outside a small rural town. I own 120+ acres of mixed pine/hardwood forest and fields, and a large 2-story 1880s farmhouse–the land has been in our family since 1827. Would like to get it back to the level of self-sufficiency of my great-grandparents’ day.
    The property has a small pond, an extensive network of trails(several miles) throughout our forest, fruit(plum, persimmon, fig, black currant, hardy kiwi, nectarine, serviceberry, loquat, apple, pomegranate, pear) and nut(pecan, chestnut, hazelnut)trees, asparagus beds, grapevines, blackberries, strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, vegetable and edible flower/herb gardens, a dog(Snoddy Dawg!), friendly barn cats, poultry(Chickens, geese, ducks, guineas, turkeys, bantams), lots of wildlife, as well as a zone 8 growing season(4 season garden).
    Current projects include organic raised bed & field mixed veg gardening, mixed flower and herb(edible & medicinal) gardens, high tunnel, mycoculture, straw bale & traditional cold frames, exotic plants-ethnobotany, permaculture, wildcrafting, hugelkultur, drainage projects/ditching, trail clearing and construction, pallet and bamboo construction, remodeling the 1880s farmhouse, pecan, blueberry, blackberry and grape harvesting, chickens, ducks, geese, guineas, landscaping, composting, biochar production, landscaping with food plants, and a small nursery. Most tasks involve the large garden, raised beds & high tunnel growing areas, as well as the mixed flower/herb beds around the homestead. Helpers also assist with tasks around the yard & house. Open to trying any new ideas, and always have something going on. Times when we really need volunteers(from 4-10 people) are during the spring & summer season when things are the busiest. I accept folks during the off-season, but in limited numbers(2-4).
    I have a library of 7k+ volumes, covering a myriad of topics, plus most friends refer to me as a walking encyclopedia. An old hippie(53yo) who has worn many hats, I moved back to the Carolinas to run the farm and help my mom who had Alzheimer’s. Diagnosed with throat cancer in 2016, I’ve gone through radiation treatments & multiple surgeries. It’s been a hell of a time for me & the homestead, but we’ve continued to host volunteers the whole time. I’m now learning a new way of life due a laryngectomy & a pectoral flap procedure. My ability is limited & some international volunteers may have trouble understanding my speech. My son has had to run the farm for me for the past few summers, but he is back at university now & I’m back to running the show. I will never be back to my old self, but we will keep hosting until I’m not able to handle it any longer. I look forward to this challenge and still having a load of helpful folks to teach and to learn from.

    Visit the farm’s FB page and ‘like’ it… https://www.facebook.com/princebayfarm Tons of pics of the farm and the fantastic volunteers hosted here…
    See the “notes” section of the FB page for farm rules, guidelines, projects, feedback, etc… https://www.facebook.com/princebayfarm/notes
  • LocationUnited States, North Carolina, Columbus County, Tabor City

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Building
    Cooking / Shopping
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with eco project
    Other
  • Hours per day 9AM -noon & 1PM-3PM, Monday to Saturday,
    Meal prep and daily routine cleaning are in addition to the 5 hours.
  • Work requirements: Volunteers must be healthy & in good physical condition & have a sense of humor.
    Attention to detail is required from workers.
    I look forward to my volunteers enjoying their stay, however, this is not a vacation camp and my expectations of work are high.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Contact me for availability
  • Duration of stay: 2 week minimum, Maximum stay depends on the helper
  • Maximum number of helpers: 8
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? Outdoor animals: a dog(Snoddy Dawg!), friendly barn cats, poultry(Chickens, geese, ducks, guineas, turkeys, bantams), lots of wildlife,
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: I have two available bedrooms in the house, multiple helpers may share rooms(max inside 4-6). Rustic(no electric/water) recycled pallet house and tiny house available(4 persons max in both) adjacent to the main house. Bathroom and kitchen in house available for helpers not staying in main house. During the busy times, some volunteers will have to camp. Plenty of room for camping, either in the yard or at the Sleepy Bear camping area. Parking is available for vehicle camping if needed(no power hook-ups). Wifi available after work hours.
  • Additional info
  • ***I am an omnivore, thus volunteers can eat what I cook or provide for themselves. Vegetables compose the majority of what I cook, but sometimes it’s one dish meals with meat. If I cook a one dish meal with meat, you are welcome to use veggies from the garden to prepare something for yourself.
    Will accept folks with food allergies/special diets(veggie, vegan, lactose intolerant, paleo, all-organic/all-natural, etc) as long as you supply your own specialty foods if unable to eat what is prepared. We make our ice cream in a churn.
    If someone with dietary restrictions wants to come here, that is fine with us but we can not alter our eating habits to suit someone else, nor buy special foods for you. It ain’t going to kill ya try it–except maybe some of the ‘shrooms growing in the forest. If it does, what a helluva ride!
    Facilities will be provided for you to prepare your own food if you have a special diet. Skittles, Dorito’s, nut milk, Bragg’s, soda, etc: these are the types of things you would need to provide for yourself.
    If you prefer all-natural foods, all-organic, etc, be sure to bring plenty with you. Especially when it it’s not growing on the farm. Self-sufficiency isn’t expecting availability of everything all the time. We eat farm fresh in season, and always preserve part of harvest for rest of year. We recognize the limits of the seasons and the joys of abundance all year.
    Btw, I buy my staples/groceries at a normal supermarket, but all farm produce is organic. ***
    I expect my helpers to behave as adults and as good guests. I’m on a fixed income–I’m not cheap–I’m poor and frugal. I ask that helpers not be wasteful (or destructive) of our resources–food, supplies, power, water, tools, belongings.
    Helpers are reminded that they are sharing a communal living space and should be considerate of the other household members. I have no problem with being blunt and correcting bad/inconsiderate behaviors–Trump supporters need not apply. I have a car I use for farm errands. Transportation is available to town on a fairly regular basis, but not daily. Downtown Tabor City is about a 15 minute walk from the farm–a few stores and small restaurants, but that is about it, not much to do or see. The farm/homestead is in a rural area, which means helpers should realize the pace of life is slower and relaxing. Walks in the forest, making hand-churned ice cream, sitting in the hammock chairs on the upstairs veranda, lazy afternoon naps, campfires & ‘smores in the evening, shooting lessons, movie marathons are some of the recreational activities after work.
    There are books, DVDs, games, music & conversation for entertainment. I try to plan outings to show helpers the region around the farm. Just don’t expect shopping trips/guided tours every afternoon, or wild parties every evening.
    I have recently quit smoking tobacco. So, consult with me about tobacco use while on the farm. No cigars/blunts in house.