Prepare our boat for a trip to the Caribbean

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Prepare our boat for a trip to the Caribbean

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionOur boat is a 72ft sailing yacht based in Spain. She is a traditional steel ketch and is being restored by us. We need help and are looking for your help to do this.

    About the boat:
    The boat was designed and built in 1972. Only 2 were made.

    The present owners are doing everything they can to ensure that the soul of the boat remains as they sensitively bring the boat up-to-date.

    She is in the City so there is plenty to do in easy reach.

    There are decent berths in the boat in 4 Cabins.

    Couples or singles fine.
    Cheers,
    Mike
  • LocationSpain, RegiĆ³n de Murcia, Murcia, Cartagena

  • Work
  • Type of work In November 2017, the boat is sailing to the Caribbean. In order to prepare for the trip the boat has a lot of maintenance required and the interior requires a considerable amount of work to trim the walls and ceilings, rebuild the galley and paint many areas. These are the hippohelp skills we require.

    Duties:
    - Work with the owners to fit wooden panelling to the interior walls, fit teak trim, paint parts of the boat both interior & exterior.

    - Maintain winches, clean & polish fittings etc. Cook meals, clean.

    - I can help explain so you don't need to have lots of experience of yacht equipment but his would be useful.

    - Carpentry, painting, interior design & trimming.
  • Hours per day 4-5 hours a day.
  • Work requirements: I require enthusiastic people so anyone up for this is great as long as you have transferable skills.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: We can decide this together.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? No information provided.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Accommodation on the boat and good food.
  • Additional info