Paige and Tim's Place

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Paige Pickering

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Paige and Tim's Place

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionHi there!

    We're just your average empty nesters with a huge half empty house and way too many animals! We love our neighborhood and quirky victorian house. We also love having cats and dogs around. We have two dogs and three cats of our own. Plus we foster neonate orphan kittens and do temporary fostering thru "safety net". It's a program that helps people with housing, medical or other issues keep thier pets by placing the pet in a foster home until the owner gets back on thier feet. It's all a bit much!

    Rather than downsizing or stopping our fostering work, we thought getting a little help might be a solution. We have the space and love having guests. We host with couchsurfer.com and are airbnb hosts. We live just 20 minutes from the center of Philadelphia, with fantastic public transportation. We won't be asking for much in the way of work hours, so you'll have lots of time to explore. Everything you need, like grocery stores, cafes, and a little downtown area are within walking distance from the house.
  • LocationUnited States, Pennsylvania, Delaware County, Lansdowne

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Cooking / Shopping
    Gardening
    Help in the house
  • Hours per day 15 hours per week.

    We'll sit down and pick times and days that work best for you. We're very flexible.
  • Work requirements: The work will be mostly pet care and cleanup. When we have bottle babies (orphan newborn kittens), we'll ask you to help with thier care. Helping socialize the older foster kittens. Walking and brushing the dogs. Poop patrol and litter boxes. We are new to this and don't really know what we want the helper to do, so it will be somewhat varied. If there are no foster animals in the house there may be light house work and gardening.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: For our first couple of guest/helpers we'd like the stay to be around a month or less.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 1
  • Last minute requests: Not okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? Yes, lots! See above.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: You will have your own room on the second floor. It's a fairly large room with lots of light and a window air-conditioner.
  • Additional info
  • We are muslims, but are very liberal ones. We don't care what you do (overnight guests, drinking etc), because you're an adult and we're not your parents! We only ask that you don't cook pork in the house. You can eat it all you want, we just really don't like the smell.
    I clicked the "no smoking" button, but I'm pretty sure they meant tobacco. We do occasionally smoke marijuana in the evening in our bedroom on the third floor. If you're very sensitive or offended by that, I just wanted you to be aware.