Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

David & Jo-Ann Palmer

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Our place on the edge of the Rainforest!

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionWe are now available from now until the 20th of December 2019, then from the 10th of January 2020, onward. We welcome a couple or two singles to help with clearing and planting a fairly steep slope of native bush in order to mitigate bush fire vulnerability for the house. We also need clearing of feral plants (lantana, blue top, camphor laurel etc.), road work and rock wall building. We are now also looking for workers with carpentry and home renovation skills. We have lot's of work indoors when it is raining!
  • LocationAustralia, New South Wales, Tweed Shire Council, Pumpenbil

  • Work
  • Type of work Building
    Cooking / Shopping
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
  • Hours per day Twenty five hours per week. (5 days by five hours). This is flexible as are days off.
  • Work requirements: We ask for 5 hours per day 5 days per week from each of our volunteers. That is 25 hours per week and days off are by mutual arrangement. We do not do any teaching as such. We usually agree on an initial stay of two weeks, with an extension of another 2 or 3 weeks if we all get on well together. We instruct and supervise the work as much as is necessary, but expect that volunteers bring basic work skills with them. We hope they will be self-starting and enthusiastic and we have yet to be disappointed!
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: Agreement to an initial stay of a MINIMUM two weeks, with an extension of another 2 or 3 weeks if we all get on well together.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? We have no domestic animals; no pets, no chickens, no cows or horses.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: There is a comfortable bedroom available with a queen bed for a couple and a bed available in our (camper) van for the second worker if needed.

    We have a well equipped modern split level home with good TV reception and broadband internet with wifi connectivity. Our service has been recently upgraded meaning Skype works very well. >Recently Telstra, the largest national mobile carrier. commissioned a new tower nearby. So we now have good mobile phone coverage too! We also have quite a good library of books CD's, DVD's and BluRays.
  • Additional info
  • We CAN NOT help volunteers to obtain a visa. We are not employers. You will probably need a working holiday visa to volunteer with us. You will need to get your own visa and get to Australia under your own steam. We can pick you up at Gold Coast airport or at Murwillumbah coach stop. We have no domestic animals; no pets, no chickens, no cows or horses. There are, however, resident animals of many sorts. Half a dozen red-necked pademelons (little wallabies), red-necked wallabies, and grey kangaroos are often about trimming the grass. A huge 1.8 meter long lace monitor sometimes visits for water and to bask in the sun and a truly humungous echidna spends time disassembling our rock wall and tiled patio to get at the ants! We have identified over 90 species of birds on the property. King parrots, crimson rosellas, and rainbow lorikeets are the most frequent visitors. Bower birds visit in flocks of 30 or 40 and red tailed and yellow tailed cockatoos and even wedge tailed eagles are seen from time to time. If you are into nature you will love it here! We have been certified as a refuge for "Land for Wildlife". Yeah!!! There is a bedroom available with a queen bed for a single or a couple and a bed available in our (camper) van for the second worker if needed. We are looking for two strong fit workers with their own well fitting work or hiking boots suitable for work on a steepish slope. We only speak English unfortunately, so a good working knowledge of English is essential. We can pick you up from the bus terminal in Murwillumbah if needed, but as we are a long way from town (and only go in on average two days a week) you might want to have your own vehicle. You will be staying with an expatriate Canadian 73 years of age and a Kiwi about 58 years; both rather younger at heart. We are non smokers, infrequent drinkers, and love conversation about science, politics and environmentalism! We run our internet business from home so we will be here 6 days a week on average. If you love nature, are hard working (about 5 half days a week), and willing to share in cooking evening meals, we will provide your accommodation, food and laundry. No house work is required unless you want to. There is not much to do around here in your spare time except go for walks and appreciate the birdlife and wildlife so if you want action in your off time, you will definitely need a vehicle. We have a pair of mountain bikes so you will be able to explore the local area a little! If you think this might suit you, we would love to hear from you!