Oakleigh

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Oakleigh

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionThis is a big shared house which is being gradually renovated in a reasonably lovely and eco-minded way.

    We welcome volunteers usually for about a week at a time. When you visit there may be between 2 and 8 other people about; it may be quiet or with lovely big shared meals. We're an easy 15 min bus ride into the cultural centre of Sheffield, and 45 minutes through to the beautiful Peak District.

    We've no reviews yet as we've not used HippoHelp before but we've hosted people before and they've enjoyed being here. Anyway, please take a look at the website https://www.diggersanddreamers.org.uk/community/oakleigh/ and get in touch with questions and your availability!
  • LocationUnited Kingdom, England, South Yorkshire

  • Work
  • Type of work Building
    Gardening
    General maintenance
  • Hours per day We ask for an average of 4 hrs work a day in exchange for accommodation and food. There'll be some flexibility about when this should happen, so for example you can take time off for a well-earned trip to the Peak District, or other interests.
  • Work requirements: Covid safety: If you are coming from another country you will need to comply with the UK government quarantine regulations.

    You need to be reasonably independent, as although there'll mostly be someone else around or working with you, that won't always be possible. Apart from that, just the usual expectations about respect for others and a willingness to tidy up after yourself.

    This year’s tasks could include re-lining the pond, chopping wood, painting windows or internal walls, re-building garden walls, ripping up carpet tiles or ripping ivy up and planting bulbs, depending on weather, skills and inclination!
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 1 week
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, and a little French and less Spanish
  • Has pets? We have Marty the dog - a friendly, muscly, short-haired, stomach with beseeching eyes in the house - see photos at https://www.diggersanddreamers.org.uk/community/oakleigh/
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: We have two double rooms available; so we can accommodate 2 couples or 2 individuals. Bathrooms are shared with others in the house.

    6 other people live in the house, but it still feels spacious. Meals are vegetarian or vegan and shared on an ad-hoc basis, a few people at a time, with larger meals happening occasionally.
  • Additional info
  • For further info see https://www.diggersanddreamers.org.uk/communities/existing/oakleigh
    Looking forward to making contact with you!