Melin Llan

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Melin Llan

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionMelin Llan is a place of many projects with two acres of gardens to manage and several businesses operating from the property we're looking for a variety of people to come and help out. Before lockdown we had a 50 strong team of volunteers who would help out in various ways but unfortunately many were university students who have now moved away and so we are looking for ways to get back on our feet. We are hoping for 2022 to be open all year round and expand our community.

    We offer AirBnb accommodation which requires regular cleaning and maintenance and have many projects in progress including chickens, steam & sauna rooms, bathroom renovations, outhouses etc. Three businesses also operate from the property with several brands which require social media and marketing attention. One is a cloud computing company, another IT company focusing on improving human experiences at festivals and to tie the two together, an events company which runs a variety of events from raves to beer festivals to private hire bookings, we also hope to introduce outdoor activities to our offerings taking advantage of the natural resources that surround the property.

    There's a lot going on, and that is a reflection of G's personality. Our core principles are respect, honesty and trust with a focus on improving human experience through events and tech whilst having fun inventing things along the way. We hope to open a cafe and run more frequent events with help, we also hope to gain traction for some of the businesses that operate from the property. All skills are valuable to us from service, to cleaning, to gardening, to marketing to programming. If you're interested and have the right mind we can also offer training in these areas in exchange for your help.

    We're new to this and not sure if this is a route we'd like to take but thought we'd list our venue and see what happens, we'd likely to want to welcome more than one person if we welcome anyone at all, and will work to establish a clear understanding of the exchange so that everyone's happy.

    We'd be looking for a mixture of people, some who stay for short periods and others who are around to help tackle bigger projects. We're about 5 minutes walking distance of a bus which takes you to Swansea and we are semi-rural - we're out of the way, but also not far away from anything.

    We're not just looking for practical helpers but digital helpers, too! We have experts working with us in various areas of IT & marketing and would be willing to share our knowledge and teach.
  • LocationUnited Kingdom, Wales, Swansea

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Building
    Cooking / Shopping
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with computers / internet
    Help with eco project
    Helping with tourists
  • Hours per day Open to discussion, we've only just thought about doing this so haven't really made any decisions yet!
  • Work requirements: Must be friendly, honest and personable. We're open minded and
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: Open to anything, but no less than a week
  • Maximum number of helpers: 6
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? Currently we have an extremely friendly and confident cat.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: For accommodation we have a bunk room with 8 beds and plenty of space to setup a camp or park a van/caravan.
  • Additional info