Llama & Alpaca Sanctuary

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Llama & Alpaca Sanctuary

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionOur farm is a llama refuge located in the hill country of south central Texas northwest of San Antonio. Normal stays are 1 to 3 weeks. The hill country of Texas has four seasons with different activities possible during each season. Our main focus is the care and rescue of llamas and alpacas.
    Volunteers help with the compassionate care of animals or the repair or construction of out-buildings or maintenance of facilities and pastures. Time for working is 4 hours/day for 5 days per week but can be adjusted if food is not provided. Your own vehicle is needed for transportation. There are cats and dogs and free-range poultry here so your approved pet would need to be kept in a fenced area or on a leash. Children are not accepted. We provide simple vegetarian ingredients such as grains, eggs, cheese, beans. Continental breakfast, lunch, light supper. Accommodations vary depending on the number of volunteers. ** Update: Housing will be house/dog sitter next door to refuge from mid June thru Sept 7th **
    No Smoking facility.
    Vehicle is needed.
    You need your own income as this is a non-commercial refuge.
    No illegal substances or activities.
    No perfumes or chemical fragrances.
    You need to be able to lift 2 strand hay bale approximately 50lbs.
    Health insurance is recommended. Liability waiver is required.
    Vaccination against COVID required.
  • LocationUnited States, Texas, Kerr County, Kerrville

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Building
    Charity work
    Cooking / Shopping
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help with computers / internet
  • Hours per day 4 hours each morning for 5 days of the week to total 20 hours per week. Usually 8am to noon.
  • Work requirements: Ability to lift a bale of hay approximately 50 lbs. Love of animals and working outdoors.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: varies
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? Dogs, cats, poultry, llamas, alpacas
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: ** Update: Housing will be house/dog sitter next door to refuge from mid June thru Sept 7th **
  • Additional info
  • There is no public transportation. Refuge is in a rural area 7 miles from town. Bus does come to town from the nearest major city of San Antonio, TX.