Kuckucksmuehle

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Kuckucksmuehle

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionHi we are Franz and Aimee and we are working at an old water mill with foundations from the 13th century (actual building maybe 16th century) to restore the main house and the outbuildings around it in order to start an ecological community mixed with a hacker space.

    This place should be a safe and open place: no sexism, no racism, no stereotyping, no preaching.
  • LocationGermany, Brandenburg, Heiligengrabe

  • Work
  • Type of work At the moment we are focusing on restoration including tasks that need good physical fitness, must not be afraid of getting your hands dirty and getting involved in tasks such as cleaning, cuttings trees, digging, building work, carpentry, restoration of furniture, harvesting, mowing, brick, making firewood, ... .
    If you into DIY and want to create stuff, we have task for you too.
    But also if you like computer work we have already a lot to do: write documentation, here and there create social media content, programming for open source software we use, administration.
  • Hours per day 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. If you are independent, you can get an independent work schedule. You can work more to get more time off also.
  • Work requirements: Independent, thoughtful, open minded.

    no sexism, no racism, no stereotyping, no religious preaching.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: At least 2 weeks
  • Maximum number of helpers: 3
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, German
  • Has pets? Dog and Chickens
  • Smokes at home? Yes
  • Accommodation: Shared room or single rooms with shared bathroom (only one bathroom).
    Hot solar shower outside in the summer - hot shower and bathtub inside in the winter.
    One shared kitchen.
    Dishwasher and washing machine.
    2 MB Internet Flat - but we want to fix that with Internet over satellite soon...

    We are 3 km away from the next village, 7 km away from the next train station, 15km away from the next shop. Have that in mind when you plan to come here. But we will probably go shopping once a week.
  • Additional info
  • For planning you can find us easy with this site of our wiki: https://wiki.ecohackerfarm.org/kuckucksmuehle:directions_to_the_project

    We try to find people that are a good fit with the project hence the questions. I would also ask you to read and agree to our ideals here: https://wiki.ecohackerfarm.org/ideals

    Some basic info about the terms for volunteers:
    We only have hot outdoor showers and predominantly vegetarian food, alcohol is not included in the agreement but is allowed if you’d like to buy some either from here or a shop in town. We don't buy milk and meat usually but we're not prohibit that.

    Volunteers are expected to help with household, construction, gardening and other general tasks for 25 hours a week, we have some flexibility in that volunteers are able to work on tasks they like whilst trying to finish the most urgent tasks first for example someone who likes to garden is able to work more on gardening tasks, an artist can choose to work on arty tasks or even their own project some of the time perhaps a few hours a week to make the experience more enjoyable.

    We have bicycles that volunteers can use to travel in the region. We play games, watch movies play billiard together or similar things to enjoy the evenings.

    Generally for people who want to stay more then two weeks, we have to decide that on site. For example after one week we decide if you fit and you have one week to manage to go somewhere else. This normally only happens with people where we can't find a common ground or if they have no motivation - when there is no motivation, the work result will be not really usable and this leads to wasting of resources. :)

    Despise this lot information, we are an open and welcoming place and want to stay that way. :) This means also sometimes a lot of people will be here and we all enjoy the time together.

    If you want to get any other updates till your arrival, you can have a look at our social media sites: https://wiki.ecohackerfarm.org/outreach#kuckucksmuehle