Housekeeping and General Maintenance help on a Stunning Sussex Wonderland

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

WonderlandSussex

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Housekeeping and General Maintenance help on a Stunning Sussex Wonderland

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionAlex and I live with our two children - Cordelia (11) and Sherlock (6) on the most idyllic land (8 acres) in West Sussex close to the bustling city of Brighton.

    As well as being a family home we have AirBnB units and need assistance with housekeeping for these spaces as well as building, fixing, carpentry and maintaining the house and gardens...there is always plenty to be done!

    Our set-up would suit a couple due to the split of tasks we have to do - some physical and some child-based/ housekeeping, and there is always help needed around the garden and house...these tasks include painting, cleaning and looking after the animals.

    You stay in a gorgeous guest house and are surrounded by rolling fields and a picturesque lake which is a home to lots of birds and wildlife (including peacocks!) and you'll feel as though you're in the middle of the countryside, yet in 15 minutes walk you are in the village of Henfield with shops, cafes and pubs.

    We offer a weekly food allowance of £50 per couple.

    And any additional hours worked over the 5 per day will be paid at £10 per hour.
  • LocationUnited Kingdom, England, West Sussex

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Building
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
  • Hours per day 5 hours per day. Monday - Friday.
    More available if you would like to be paid for the time.
  • Work requirements: Fit, strong, positive attitude and the ability to follow directions.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 4 weeks
  • Maximum number of helpers: 3
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:Any but we all speak English
  • Has pets? A cat
    And lots of birdlife - chickens, peacocks, ducks, gineau fowl!
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: A private double room in the downstairs of a guesthouse with use of the facilities - kitchen, bathroom etc.
  • Additional info
  • This placement would suit an independent couple keen to explore the locality in their free time. We love hosting our helpers but have busy lives so independence and self sufficiency is key.