Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Language practice

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionOur home with garden is near Frankfurt, exact 9 minutes train ride to Frankfurt town centre. There are lakes to swim, forest to bike and jog. Two swimming pools nearby. It is a quite residential area, in walking distance to amenities. We are past middle age married couple with a very academic teenage girl. You will have a loft apartment (living room, single bed, private bathroom). Our offer is only for female students. There isn't much work to do, mostly language exchange during school holidays. We are happy if you can tidy our small backyard garden or help with household. You are expected to practice one (or more) of the following languages: English, French, Italian, Mandarin, Turkish. Please note that you must be a native or near native English or French speaker since my daughter is already fluent in both. She is B1 level in Italian, A2 level in Mandarin.
  • LocationGermany, Hessen, Darmstadt, Langen (Hessen)

  • Work
  • Type of work Gardening
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • Hours per day You are expected to teach minimum 3 hours daily during school holidays, can do more if you wish to. You shall also help with household cores such as cleaning, which will not take longer than 2 hours per week. You will be free for the rest of the day.
  • Work requirements: Strictly no smoking and drinking. You are not permitted to invite other people to our home. If you intend to stay night out, you must let us know. Curfew applies after midnight. If you have dietery restrictions (allergy etc) we are happy to help you purchase your own food, translate where necessary without any liability.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: July/August 2019 and school breaks
  • Duration of stay: Minimum one week, maximum one month
  • Maximum number of helpers: 1
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, German, French, Italian, Turkish
  • Has pets? We love pets but we don't have any.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Large loft apartment within the house. Own bathroom with bathtub, shower and toilet. Own living room and separate bedroom with a single very comfortable bed, dresser, wardrobe, mirror, study desk, internet access.
  • Additional info
  • We are hosting teenagers since 2012 on a reciprocal basis (you host mine, I host yours) and prefer families who would like to host our daughter in future. She is interested in robotics, programming and sailing.