Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Holistic Retreat Centre in Donamon, Ireland

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionI run a residential Holistic Centre, which is adjacent to the home where I live with my partner. We enjoy the quiet country life. We also both do some craft work. Bob enjoys working with stained glass and polishing various types of stones. I enjoy wood crafting, painting, and making sculptures and pieces of jewellery using gemstones. We both enjoy gardening although we are not very skilled at this. Jamie (a dog who lives with us in our house) is also very friendly with people.

    The centre is set in a rural environment. It is an ideal location for a relaxing break, a retreat or fishing, walking, etc. whilst you are here providing us with some help. We are a short walk from the river Suck and Donamon Castle. It offers a tranquil setting where you can escape from the distractions of modern day life . Our aim is to provide a peaceful and quiet environment, suitable for relaxation and retreat. For this reason there are no TV's, radios, etc. However, there is a Wi-Fi connection which is provided via mobile broadband for you to use.
  • LocationIreland, County Roscommon, Roscommon

  • Work
  • Type of work Someone who is skilled and experienced in housekeeping to help with general domestic duties (Cleaning, Ironing and preparing guest rooms etc).

    Someone with DIY skills to help with any of the following: General Maintenance - DIY, Painting, Basic Plumbing and Electrical Work, Gardening, etc. (please let me know what areas you are skilled in).

    Someone to help with clearing our small polytunnel and making some raised beds inside.

    Someone who is skilled in roof work to help with fixing a leaking flat roof.

    If you are skilled in more than one of the above areas, please let me know which areas of work you are interested in volunteering for.
    Any helpers may also be required to help out in the centre in general when necessary.

    The following options are available for helpers:

    OPTION ONE - 15 HOURS HELP PER WEEK over 3 to 5 days.
    In return I offer accommodation all week (an ideal option for those who want to have maximum flexibility to either have more days off or work fewer hours each day).

    OPTION TWO - 20 HOURS HELP PER WEEK over 4 days.
    In return I offer accommodation all week and food for breakfast, lunch and dinner each working day of your stay (an ideal option for those who want to be out and about and go off to other areas on their days off).

    OPTION THREE - 25 HOURS HELP PER WEEK over 5 days
    In return I offer accommodation all week and food for breakfast, lunch and dinner on each day of your stay including on your days off as well (an ideal option for those who want to stay fairly local on their days off).

    I am happy to negotiate an alternative option of hours for you if you prefer, providing this is done in advance of your arrival.

    If you choose any option other than accommodation only, please let me know if you have any specific dietary requirements and/or likes/dislikes regarding food at least one week prior to your arrival so that I can confirm whether or not I am able to cater for these.

    PLEASE GIVE DETAILS OF WHAT YOU CAN HELP WITH AND ANY EXPERIENCE YOU MAY HAVE. IF YOU HAVE SKILLS NOT LISTED ABOVE, PLEASE LET ME KNOW AS I MAY ALSO BE ABLE TO USE THESE.
  • Hours per day I offer a range of choices for working hours from 15 to 25 hours a week. Please see details of options which are listed in 'Type of Work'
  • Work requirements: We are looking for enthusiastic, trustworthy and self-motivated people who are good timekeepers to help us. Although I aim to work with volunteers, it is important that you are also able and willing to work alone as well as with other volunteers / members of the team.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 1 week minimum
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? One Dog
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: We offer a bedspace in our 5 bedded dormitory or may be able to offer you a separate bedroom if available. You also have use of communal areas in the centre.
  • Additional info
  • The OPAL Centre consists of a house, Holistic Centre, outbuildings and garden area. It is in the heart of a rural part of Ireland, a small village called Donamon, which is approximately 15km outside of Roscommon Town. This makes it a great location for a peaceful and relaxed stay, whilst being fairly close to Roscommon town. We are also a short drive from a number of great places to visit. There is no public transport from Donamon so you would need a car or bike to travel anywhere that is not in walking distance, although we are happy to give you a lift if we are going into town, etc. We are also a short drive from a number of great places to visit.

    We aim to create a tranquil and peaceful setting. For this reason there are no televisions or radios, etc. There is WiFi available which is supplied by a mobile network broadband service.

    Local Amenities:
    Local shop is approx. 8km and local pubs are approx. 4km and 8km. Roscommon town is about 15km away and offers: Post Office, Banks, Library, Pubs, Cafes/Restaurants, Supermarkets, Gyms, Pharmacies, Castle, Organic Health and Food Store, Cinema, Leisure Centre with swimming pool. There is no public transport in our village.

    Places of local interest:
    Donamon Castle, Rathcroghan Heritage Centre, Strokestown House and Famine Museum, Roscommon Museum, Castlecoote House, Elphin Windmill, Claypipe Museum, Roscommon Castle, Black Lake and River Suck, Mote Park, Hudson Bay (where you can get a boat trip down the River Shannon), Athlone town, Arigna Mining Experience, Kings House in Boyle and Carrick on Shannon with its marina.

    If I am going into Roscommon Town, Carrick-on-Shannon or Athlone, etc., you are welcome to join me if you wish.

    Sorry, no pets. Jamie, the dog who lives with us in the house is very friendly with humans but not so friendly with other animals.