Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Help with Horses if you ride, building work and garden and orchard

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionOur home is off the beaten track.
    Stolat is a very small hamlet in North Central Bulgaria. We are on the edge of the Stara Planina Mountains. 520 meters above sea-level. Sevlievo is 30 minutes away / Gabrovo 45 minutes away. Veliko Tarnovo is 1 hour and15 minutes away.

    We are on a hillside and have stunning views of the valley below and Sevlievo in the distance.

    As our home is off the beaten track in the hills, you will have plenty of time to explore the natural beauty of this stunning area. Our home is set in 9 acres of land. Woods, paddocks and orchards.

    We offer good home cooked food, good room with use of WiFi for connecting to facebook, emails etc.

    In exchange for your help we offer all meals and accommodation, we will ask you to help us 4 to 5 days, 4 to 5 hours per day.

    We do have horses.
    You may be asked to help remove the droppings from the orchard and field on occasions.
    If you are a good / experienced horse rider then you can help ride out with us.
  • LocationBulgaria

  • Work
  • Type of work We are in need of some help with concreting paths, building walls and cutting down small trees.

    Paint / Varnish- We have had a new stable block and barn constructed. Will need all the timber treating / spraying.
    ( use of power compressor to spray and hand paint small areas. )

    Our home is being extended so will need a hand with the general work, also some painting work too.

    Due to the building work that has been going on, we will need general help in the garden, weeding, pruning trees etc
    Mending fences as we have 2 dogs who love to create holes in them.

    Time permitting due to weather, we want to try and creating several covered shelters out of local wood for each of the turn out fields.

    We will need help to clear some of the over grown fields and orchards. Remove weeds and take down some of the dead or dying trees / remove dead branches etc to make new pasture and turn outs for the horses.

    Also

    We would love help in the house : general cleaning and dusting of each room, cleaning of windows. etc Help with the cooking and general help in the kitchen.

    If you are a horse rider then lots of riding as i have 3 horses that need to be ridden
  • Hours per day Looking for help 5 hours per day. Some days may be less some days maybe a little more.
    5 days per week.
    Could be weekends with days off in week or neg with helper.
    Long weekend if staying for a month etc
  • Work requirements: Good horse rider,
    Love of DIY, painting and gardening and love of nature

    Happy fun and willing to have a go, happy to teach people new skills etc
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: September on-wards or anytime.
  • Duration of stay: minimum of 2 weeks or long term up to 3 months plus
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? 3 Horses, all ridden. 17hh, 16.2hh and 14.2hh
    3 cats
    Also,
    We have 2 wonderful dogs :
    Asha who is a mature female German shephard born 2011
    Sindie a young female golden retriever x kangal . born 2014
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Own room / Double bed, shared bathroom wc shower.
    WiFi.
  • Additional info
  • Come and spend time with us, help in the house, play with our 2 dogs and 3 adorable house cats.

    Minimum stay 2 weeks max stay 3 months and over

    Happy to collect / pick up in Sevlievo.

    We have 2 wonderful dogs :
    Asha who is a mature female German shephard born 2011
    Sindie a young female golden retriever x kangal . born 2014
    Both love to be brushed and taken for walks and played with.

    contact via whatsapp great. 00359884590725