Help with animal care and housework in west of Ireland

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Help with animal care and housework in west of Ireland

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionSmallholding in semi-rural area, 1 km. from small medieval town. Host is a semi-retired photo journalist who also dabbles in illustrating and music. Five animals, a pony, a donkey and three cats. Some help with housework and animals appreciated. Lots of free time - no money changes hands. Private room, wi-fi, bicycle, etc.
  • LocationIreland, County Galway, Galway

  • Work
  • Type of work Keeping house, stable and music studio clean and tidy. Three bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen, sitting-room and sun-room.
    Grooming pony and donkey, feeding and looking after cats.
    Keeping logs and turf in for stove in winter. Some small gardening tasks.
  • Hours per day No more than three hours each day with one day in seven completely free. Walk or cycle to nearby town; take a bus or train to city.
  • Work requirements: No smoking, sorry. Not glued to mobile phone please - I like to talk!
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 10 to 15 days on average
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, Gaeilge (Irish)
  • Has pets? Yes. Three cats, a donkey and a pony.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Private room. Single bed. Small table and chair. Bathroom is not beside the guest room.
  • Additional info
  • Ask lots of questions. Host is a single male who chooses to live alone. If this is a problem for you, don't ask to stay!