Help us at our guest ranch in the south Cariboo, the heart of cowboy country.

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Help us at our guest ranch in the south Cariboo, the heart of cowboy country.

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionOur Ranch:
    We moved to this amazing property in Sept 2016 and have just opened our guest ranch! It was a former dude ranch 10 years ago. We have Herd of bred heiffers and 30 calves, 10 horses. We have insured a vehicle so you could explore the area, we have atv's etc to use now. If your interested in enjoying some beautiful lakes and terrain you will love it here.

    Your Hosts: Elaine & Alan
    Al grew up on a farm in Ontario where his dad trained standard bred horses. Al said he never had a bike growing up just a horse.

    Elaine grew up moving around a lot her dad was a minister with the United Church of Canada. She raced snowmobiles for bombardier.

    After they married the Dillabaugh’s owned and operated a high end auto body shop for 17 years and worked on Ferrari’s Mercedes gull-wing to bmws. During the time they owned and operated the the automotive shop they built a small Inn and Farm. They operated the inn for 20 years and last Sept 2016 sold to a small boutique hotel.

    In Sept 2016 they moved into their new home and venture "Montana Hill Guest Ranch". The couple always dreamed of having a guest ranch. They have brought their experience and enthusiasm with them. Come experience this unique way of life and enjoy the western hospitality.
  • LocationCanada, British Columbia, Cariboo, Lone Butte

  • Work
  • Type of work Theres some painting & building & we need the trails cleaned up etc. Als always building something and fencing & is needing help with this.
  • Hours per day 4 hours a day, 5 days a week.
  • Work requirements: If you have experience with horses you will love it here or are eager to work with them and be apart of our Ranch.

    Were also looking for a mature couple or person with farming experience for Jan and feb 2018 when we will be away.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: We can decide this together.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 6
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? No information provided.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: We have a heritage cottage for our helpers to stay in. We offer excellent homemade meals too. Elaine loves to cook. We do have internet.
  • Additional info