Help rebuilding 600 yrs old farm

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Help rebuilding 600 yrs old farm

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionHi there,
    I'm Maritxu (to be pronounced "Maleechoo"), 45, from the Basque Country. After 20 years living abroad, I am now back home.
    Home is this amazing 600 years old stone farm in the northern Basque Country (7 km from the ocean), a farm where my family has been living for over a century (a detail in its lifetime). I have been working on drawings for the past months and I am now starting the "real" work to make it breathe again: take off concrete and use eco friendly solutions so that it becomes a place where people feel good to be.
  • LocationFrance, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Pyrénées-Atlantiques, Ahetze

  • Work
  • Type of work Building
    Gardening
    General maintenance
  • Hours per day I only consider people willing to stay a week at the minimum.
    We'll work 5h/d, 5d/w, sat-sun off
  • Work requirements: This is tough hand work. I will provide protection for hands, eyes and hears. I have electrical tools for some part of the work but people coming in will have to be able to use a hammer.
    I'm looking for dynamic, strong people.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 1 week minimum
  • Maximum number of helpers: 6
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:Basque, english, spanish, french
  • Has pets? I have not pets, I accept no pets
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: My house is REALLY old, and many people think no one lives in it 'cos it looks SO old, but I do live inside, and I can provide a very simple room (I only have one available) if you're ok in living in such place, or you can pitch your tent or park your van at the front.
  • Additional info
  • We share lunch (I provide the food, TOGETHER we prepare, eat & clean after) for the days wework, my cuisine is mainly made of vegetables, rice, pasta, a little bit of meat, lots of fruits.
    You have to provide you own food n make your own meal for breakfasts and dinners, and also for your lunch on the days off.
    In the house, you´ll have access to the kitchen & to the bathroom. There is no "living room" as the farm-lifestyle did not let time to enjoy a sofa, but we could organise one.


    Smoking & parties will not be allowed.