Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Help needed with construction and other things in my new house

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionHello travellers! I have moved to a village which is also an historic monument. It is small, beautiful, but also lively. The house is amazing. The man who was working here had to leave suddenly, and I need someone with construction experience to finish what he was doing: building some walls with doors, making a shower room downstairs, and plastering (rough plastering only). If there's anyone who can do these things I'd be glad to hear from you. Also anyone who can do plumbing and electrical stuff. And I also need help with gardening, maintenance and decoration. And if someone loves cooking and doesn't mind housework, you are very welcome now!

    So there are a lot of possibilities. At the moment there is just one spare bedroom, and also a bed on the mezzanine floor and a big attic which is ready to be made into rooms. As the work is done there will be more bedrooms, making five in the end. The first person will have his own bedroom, and when the second has been done so will the second person, and so on! And all meals will be provided. There are beautiful views, a lively village, and good conversation and food. The village is set on the confluence of two rivers, one of which is the mighty Adour. I have six good quality bicycles. It's a good life here. I volunteer for an animal charity, and hope to do more when the house is finished. If anyone wants to improve their English, I used to be a TEFL teacher and could help you. The pictures show the house when the previous owner lived here. They make it look a bit bigger than in reality. The sitting room and kitchen look substantially the same now. The long bedroom/bathroom/dressing room is where the work was stopped suddenly. Two walls are needed to separate the bathroom from the bedroom and the dressing room, and the dressing room will become a third bedroom. You can see the bed on the mezzanine in the picture which was taken from the roof conversion.
  • LocationFrance, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Landes, Aire-sur-l'Adour

  • Work
  • Type of work Building
    Cooking / Shopping
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with computers / internet
  • Hours per day 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, at the time you prefer.
  • Work requirements: No specific requirements, apart from being able to do what you say you can, and a willingness to take part and enjoy yourself!
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: I'm open to suggestions!
  • Maximum number of helpers: 5
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, French, some Spanish, some German, a tiny bit of Norwegian
  • Has pets? Two Bengal cats.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: When all the work is done there will be five bedrooms. At the moment there are two, with sleeping space for more people. As the work is done there will be more, so if several people want to come before that it will be a bit like being in a dorm room or camping. (On very comfortable beds, though!) All facilities of the house are yours to use.
  • Additional info
  • It's an amazing house. There are currently two bedrooms, and a bed on a mezzanine floor. The first task is to create another bedroom, then two more in the attic (or people can live upstairs before bedrooms are created). Families are welcome!