Help needed on horse breeding farm 70km north of Melbourne

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Janette Strazdins

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Help needed on horse breeding farm 70km north of Melbourne

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionEquine Affair was established by Janette Strazdins in 1998 to follow a lifelong ambition to breed horses. It all started in 1992 with the purchase of a single broodmare from Lochinvar. The Stud has grown and is now home to around 80 horses. The Stud has primarily used Frozen semen to introduce the foundation bloodlines of Europe into the Breeding program. We have proudly bred a colt by the Stallion Fantastique, who was the foundation sire of the Belgian Studbook. Other Bloodlines introduced include Concorde, Rabino, Espri, Lux Z to name but a few.

    The Stud was originally situated in the Yarra Valley, but quickly ran out of space, so a new property was purchased in Tyaak, a small town near Broadford in Victoria. Tyaak is situated off the Hume Highway between Kilmore and Seymour.

    The current property consists of 214 acres of rolling hills.

    All foals are raised in large paddocks prior to being started under saddle by the resident professional rider.
  • LocationAustralia, Victoria, Mitchell Shire, Broadford

  • Work
  • Type of work We looking for people that can feed horses and take child to school, or work bringing in horses for the riders, fixing fences etc.
  • Hours per day 5 to 6hrs work per day 5 days a week.
  • Work requirements: Be willing to do the tasks at hand with a happy face!
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: Preference given to those wanting to stay for at least three months.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? No information provided.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: We will provide food, accommodation,internet access on large rural property.
  • Additional info
  • Currently looking for someone urgently for one month while we wait for our new aupair to arrive.
    This is a volunteer role only.